Me in a blog post

There was a time when I hated new beginnings. Not anymore. I’ve grown to love the adventure that accompanies change. This blog is another adventure that I am about to embark upon. I did try blogging before. And failed in the worse way possible. The problem? I suck at commitment. No, it wasn’t that I didn’t like blogging. I love talking about myself and things that I love or that concern me. Someone even called me self-obsessed. More on that later.

Basically, it’s just that I’m the Queen of Procrastination. See? I’ve written around ninety words so far and not even introduced myself. Let me rectify that right now!

I am Mia and I’m from India. I live in Mumbai which is an awesome place to live in. I’ll turn eighteen in three months. Yay! Although I wish I turned eighteen earlier than that so that I could vote in the coming elections.

My favorite way of procrastination is reading. The most I can go without reading something or the other is twelve hours. Then I become restless and end up reading a lot…like an entire book. Which isn’t a bad thing. Mostly .

I love music as much as I love books which basically means that I can’t go longer than twelve hours without listening to a song. Or two. Which then ends up being a playlist of some twenty songs.

I love the TV show ‘F.R.I.E.N.D.S.’. I can watch any number of times and laugh out loud EVERY SINGLE TIME.

I love buying accessories-the freakier the better. I especially have a skull fixation. I think being different is pretty awesome. I don’t get the point of being ‘normal’ because for me normal equals to mundane. And let’s face it, every single person on this earth and beyond has at least one quirk. So why deny the obvious?

I also love buying books. That reminds about another thing I’ve been procrastinating. I need to arrange my book shelves. And count and note down the books I own. This is a fun task but I have a bad, bad cold. What’s worse than having a cold?

Well, let me assure you, having a cold in summer is way worse. Ice creams! Sprites! Watermelons! *Sob*Sob*

I am fluent in English, Hindi and Marathi and I am learning French and German. In the next twelve years i.e. by the time I’m thirty, I hope to be fluent in ten languages at least. The other five languages should include Spanish, Italian, Greek and Japanese. The fifth language is still undecided. Any suggestions?

I have a sister. She’s younger to me by six whole years. We have the love/hate relationship that siblings do.

Another one of my true loves is food. My mum’s a really great cook. This means that there is something different every evening on the dinner table. I love trying out new cuisines. The tragic thing is that I cannot cook. Believe me, I’ve tried. The outcomes have been horrible. And that’s me putting them lightly.

So I did this thing where I asked a friend from different parts of my life to write a few sentences about me. Here’s what they have to say-

Silly is one of my first friends ever! We’ve been friends for almost seventeen years! She says-

“Mia is the awesomest writer and the coolest best friend anyone could ever get!!! Please never stop writing, Mia! I ❤ your works!”

I am actually blushing right now. In reality, Silly is the best bestfriend any girl could ask for! She was indeed there for me when I was in need. I have no clue what I would do without her. Really.

Then I asked two of my school friends Ravenclawsam and Raoshriya. They are bloggers too. In fact, both of them were instrumental in me starting a blog.

Sam says-

“Always trying to do the out-of-the-ordinary, be it with her writing, choice of music, or her “style” where she wears 2 different earrings in each ear! Constantly writing something or the other, be it short stories, poems or just pieces, she also reads books by the dozen. Mia (as I call her, and so will most of you now) and I bond over books, writing, languages, film, fashion, food and television. A great sense of humor while at the same time an ability to carry out a scintillating conversation- what else do you need in a friend? “

 

And Shriya

 

“M – mischievous

A – artsy

I – introvert

T – temperamental

R – robust

E – energetic

Y – yabber-y/yabber-er

E – enthusiastic

E – evil

You are a lot more than this, but you are the writer, not me. That’s the best I can do”

 

PS- Mia is a pen name of sorts. Legally, I’m Maitreyee.

Here’s what people who I hang out with the most aka my college group have to say-

Adi –“Although an Indian, Mia is not a typical Indian girl. She prefers Billie Joe Armstrong over Bollywood songs. But she does listen to some Bollywood songs when the content is good.”

Netra- “The girl who prefers skulls over lipsticks and sneakers over fancy boots.”

Well, two of the four…

And one of my newest friends Piyu

“The day I met this girl is probably one of my luckiest days! She is practically my soul sister. She might act bitchy sometimes 😛 but she is all softy inside. We can talk basically on any topic and never get bored of each other. We share many freaky coincidences! If you want a book best friend, she is your girl. She is loyal and very friendly. I’m glad I met her 😀 ”

So, it seems that all of them have good things to say about yours truly. But they are my friends! So obviously they like me!

You can continue reading my blog and form your own opinions. Hopefully, you will like me too and maybe we can even be friends!

Won’t that be great? 😀

That’s me. In a blog post.

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

