The Word ‘Schmuck’

My blog name ‘Diary of an introverted schmuck’ was originally a random phrase that popped into my mind and refused to leave. Then I thought why not make it my blog title? I am introverted and I am an idiot. Well, er, usually.

I have my moments. I have even been called wise. But then I feel like I should put on a long white beard, half-moon spectacles, wizard robes and high heeled shoes. Which makes me conjure up an image where I’m tap-dancing. In a Dumbledore costume. This ultimately makes me realize that I am not wise. Not at all.

Moving on…

So I took this opportunity to look up the word ‘schmuck’ (Go Google!).

‘Schmuck’ has three meanings in three different languages-

  • American English- It’s pejorative which means it’s a derogatory word. It means a stupid or foolish person. It also refers to a person who is a jerk.

(Am I a jerk? I hope not…though I most certainly consider myself as an idiot.  Just yesterday, I was at my friend Adi’s place. I was putting on my shoes and I accidently pushed her key-hanger. That is okay. Happens….but then I apologized to it while Adi burst out laughing behind me. In my defense, I was muddled due to my terrible cold. But an idiot, nevertheless. )

 

  • German- I feel so mad at myself! I should have known this one! I spent the last two years learning German vocab. And I did know that schmuck is jewellery in German but somehow I didn’t connect the dots here. How bad is that? Argh.

 

  • Yiddish-  Schmuck in Yiddish refers to “male genitals”. *Gives a Chandler Bing look*

Schmuck is originally a Yiddish word.  It is actually regarded as vulgar to be taboo. And it is also banned in many Jewish households.

Oh freak! Holy Hera! I never intended to insult or offend anyone but myself. So I ask the Jewish viewers (if any) to please think of the ‘schmuck’ here as jewels or idiot depending upon what they think of this blog.

Actually, that goes to all the viewers.

Say, you hate this post, then you can be “Mia is such a schmuck (idiot)”

Or if you like it, then “Mia is a schmuck! (Jewel, preferably onyx ‘coz black is my favorite color.)”

I also found out that the German word ‘schmuck’ could have been derived from the Yiddish word because ‘male genitals’ are ‘jewels of the family’.

Seriously? What a load of bull! I mean, the very same people who were responsible for the above transition must have thought of women as trash. Babies are awesome but remember birds and bees? It takes two to tango. So why just penises are considered jewels? Why not vaginas? Why not both?

Am I even making sense?

So, finally, I figured that ‘Diary of an introverted schmuck’ can be interpreted in two ways.

One. Diary of a hidden idiot.

Or two. Diary of a hidden jewel.

It’s up to you now.

But please, definitely not Diary of a hidden penis. That’ll be just plain gross.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 19:05:54

    Lol. Good post! I guess you should always do a little research before picking a name for your blog. I didn’t think to do research about my worthless advice blog but then that is why it is worthless advice!

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Apr 04, 2014 @ 18:18:40

      Thank you so much! This is the very first comment on my blog! Thanks again!
      Yeah, I guess i should have done some research for the title but I had always assumed that schmuck meant an idiot. Well, at least I know better now.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Mag
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 13:15:14

    Digging the title. From one introvert to another.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

