Sherlocked

I’ve become obsessed with TV shows thrice. There were three different shows and I hated missing even a single episode.
Grey’s Anatomy was the first time I actually started following English (shows in English language) TV series. To be frank, I didn’t care about Meredith Grey. I actually started watching it because I liked Katherine Heigl (27 Dresses, The Ugly Truth <3). I continued because I developed an elephant sized crush on T.R. Knight. By the time he left the show, I was too hooked to stop. I did stop watching it eventually. It stopped coming on Star World.
Next was One Tree Hill. God! I loved that one! Why? Chad Michael Murray. (This is where I go all dreamy-eyed.) I liked the character Peyton Sawyer too. She was badass and tortured artist-ty. Plus she had excellent taste in music. I stopped watching OTH after Chad and Hilarie Burton left the show. I tried but their absence was way too obvious.
And the third show was F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Friends is the first TV sitcom I completed and the only one so far. I cannot tell you one single reason why I saw all ten seasons because there are so many reasons. I crack up at least once per episode. The cast is amazing. So is the storyline. No wonder people still watch Friends ten years after the series finale.
So yeah. I like watching TV. But I have never seen an entire season of any TV series in one day. It is possible. I know people who’ve done it. But not me.
Until now.
Today was a day well-spent. After much persuasion from a friend of mine, I finally saw Sherlock today. An entire season. And oh my God! Next time I meet (which will hopefully be soon) my friend, I’m giving her a beeeeeeeeeeg hug!
So this post is basically me singing praises of Sherlock.
Where should I start?
Benedict Cumberbatch. The name makes me swoon. Really. Could anyone be a better Sherlock? Nope. Not possible. Not even Robert Downey Jr.
And what is it that makes him so bloody awesome?
Everything. Let’s start with his hair.
Sherlock Holmes has soft, black curls which are messy and tidy in equal measure. I wish I had hair like that. It’s hair with personality. It is that kind of hair which can keep me fascinated for hours. Playing with curls is so much fun, isn’t it?
Though of course I would never dare to touch Sherlock’s hair.
Moving onto his eyes. I’ve read about steely grey eyes which ooze wit in the tons numerous times. Never have I ever actually seen them, in person or on TV. Sherlock’s eyes are tiny peepholes to the brilliance of his brilliant brain….
…which brings me to his brain. That’s a no-brainer. It’s impossible to have the words ‘Sherlock Holmes’ and ‘Stupid’ in one sentence. (A feat I’ve successfully managed.) The science of deduction is nothing short of brilliant.
And his winks and half-smiles? *Melts into a swooning puddle*
Martin Freeman is terrific as Dr. John Watson. He’s badass. But in a quiet, composed way.
All three cases of season 1 were absolutely gripping. I couldn’t stop watching. And now, I’m left wondering how am I supposed to wait for watching season 2? It’ll have to be tomorrow evening. And that’s too bloody long.
That brings to something else I’d like to mention.
There’s nothing I hate more than cliffhangers. Really. Rick Riordan has successfully made me lose my sleep because of cliffhangers. Not again! No! No! No!
Here’s to another sleepless night. Or maybe a night full of dreams of Mr. Holmes. That’ll be awesome!
p.s. I’m Sherlocked! 😀 ❤ ❤ ❤

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ravenclawsam
    Apr 22, 2014 @ 17:23:27

    I’ll be waiting for the big hug, thank you very much. 😉
    And if you are wary of cliffhangers, I advise you (no kidding, I’m very sirius) not to watch the very last episode because it is a cliffhanger alright.
    No more Sherlock for (at least) two more years and I’m barely surviving so yeah!
    P.S. You haven’t even watched the “Sherlocked” episode yet and it is my favourite one so you’d better message me the moment you finish it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

