Thoughts from the hospital bed

Okay so technically I’m home now. There isn’t a hospital bed in sight. But I still cannot speak and it hurts like a bitch.
I got operated today. Chucked out those troublesome tonsils. I was damn scared. I hadn’t even broken a bone or got stitches till today. I still don’t have any broken bones but I do have stitches in my throat and they hurt, pesky little things.
And the ice creams! Oh my God! For the past two years, consumption of ice creams would lead to a guilt trip and swelling up of my tonsils and pain; lots of pain. Right now, because of all the ice cream I’m made to eat, I would be dancing if I wasn’t so dizzy.
***
Social support is the availability of people around us who let us know that they are care about and love us. I’m so incredibly lucky to have such a strong social support system around me.
Two of my cousins knowing that I would be freaking out tried to console me via text. It felt so good. They live in two different cities and they not only remembered the date but also started their efforts to avoid major freak out on my part two days prior to the date.
Shubhu, a friend of mine who lives far enough that she’d have to change three trains to reach my place, offered to sit with me throughout the hospital.
And my lobster, Adi, she turned up today morning and distracted me till I left for the hospital and then babysitted my kid sister.
And most of my other friends at least sent me an ‘All the best’ message.
Then when it was time to go to the hospital, I was accompanied by three people. Both my uncles and mom.
I feel so loved and cared for right now. I am grateful to everyone who were so damn concerned about me. Love you guys! :*
And don’t worry, I’m going to be absolutely fine 😉

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

