Adi

If you ask me, my fatal flaw would be that I can’t keep secrets about myself. If I were a celebrity, my fans would know every single detail of my life. I would hound myself more than the paparazzi.

I have been called self -obsessed due to this. Am I actually self-obsessed? 

Maybe. But for me it’s like either I talk about myself-a lot, or I don’t talk at all. I’m absolutely mum.

So I have a habit of pouring out my life history to random strangers. But not every random person I come across has this privilege of getting to know me,  if I may call it a privilege. 

I have to be extremely comfortable in my listener’s company. Otherwise I’m dull and boring. Really.

Have you experienced that moment when you initiate a conversation and make a friend for life? Like a friend indeed friend.

My first year of college had just begun. Barely a month had gone by and I already was drifting apart from my first group of friends.

I had gone to the German lecture. We were being taught how to ask a person their address and how to respond to the above question.

“Wo wohnst du? ” asked one of my classmates.

“Ich wohne in Dahisar.” Replied the girl next to her.

Oh my God! Dahisar! That is where I live! So I had to go and talk to this chick. Which I did.

Her name was Aditi and she did not like wearing raincoats. (It was the last lecture and it was raining)

We took the same train and sat next to each other. I swear to God, I have never talked as much as I talked that day. To anyone.

I told her about all my friends, my views on twilight (not a twiheart), my favorite book (Harry Potter then and now…Always), my favorite band (Green Day), my family, my pets and God knows what else.

Almost a year later, when I was hanging out at Adi’s place, she told me that she had never seen anyone talk that much before. Especially me. Because I don’t talk a lot usually.

We just connected, you know? It was like we were meant to be friends. I am so grateful that we are friends. Adi is one person I can’t do without.

Even though she doesn’t like Harry Potter.

Even though she thinks Twilight is a really good book.

Even though our opinions contradict a lot.

Adi is my lobster. She’s my best friend.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    May 22, 2014 @ 01:32:02

    I know…I sometimes connect to people exactly like that! It’s like that person makes you feel acknowledged and respected in a friendly way, which you would expect from people when you talk to them. Some of the best friends I have right now live in countries across the world, but they are still my best friends because our first, second, third, or every conversation we had went on like this. We would always learn new things from each other, and there were so many ideas to build upon. (I mostly did the learning, and my friends did the speaking. My friends were smarter than I was 😀 ).
    These kind of friends stay friends for a long time, and I can see that you have made a best friend the same way, too. 🙂
    Keep in touch with Aditi even if you get separated, because only by communication – in any form – will the friendship stay alive. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      May 22, 2014 @ 06:20:11

      Exactly! It feels so good when we are accepted wholeheartedly. There’s not much criticism or cribbing and if there is criticism, it’s always constructive. And there is so much to learn from every person we meet or connect with.
      I have a friend too who shifted to Canada but we’re still very much in touch and she’s still a really great pal.
      Adi is never getting rid of me 😛 And I’m sure I’m not getting rid of her either.
      What’s your story Aditi? It’s so great to connect with fellow bloggers 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • aditi1641
        May 23, 2014 @ 02:56:19

        I went to boarding school when I was in 5th and 6th grade – so that was pretty young. And I’m pretty sure you know how it works in “girl world”, right? There’s always the drama and the fighting and the problems with loyalty. Well, I did face those problems with my aforementioned best friend. But when I realised on what I was missing out when I ditched her for a different set of “friends” during 5th grade, I realised what I was missing.
        So I went back to her after a year, and we were best friends for my entire 6th grade. We probably had the closest relationship between the two of us in the entire of the 6th grade. But we didn’t care.
        But I also developed close relations with other people like another girl a year older than me. We were almost sisters 🙂
        These were the people who always taught me new things. And I felt like it was my responsibility, a tacit understanding that I should always support them for all that they were teaching me. Whether they filled me in on Hollywood gossip, or the latest current affairs (back then), I always felt it was a privilege to learn from them and be with them 🙂

        Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck
        May 25, 2014 @ 12:22:34

        Wow! I’ve always fantasied about going to a boarding school. More so, ever since I read the Malory towers and St Clare’s series by Enid Blyton. And of course, Harry Potter.
        i gather, you enjoyed your time there and made loads of friends! That’s so cool! 😀

        Like

      • aditi1641
        May 26, 2014 @ 15:56:32

        I did have a great time. Those are some experiences which I would not want to trade for something else. 🙂

        Like

  2. Jeyna Grace
    May 22, 2014 @ 02:48:21

    That’s the beauty of friendship. When you make a connection, it sticks 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kevin
    May 27, 2014 @ 13:44:00

    Good story. It is funny how as introvert you can either be the quietest person or you can flip it on, and pour out your life story.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Turning 18! | Diary of an Introverted Schmuck

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

