So I read Looking for Alaska…

..And I loved it! Obviously! It’s written by John Green who is someone who can definitely write.

I mean, he’s brilliant!

I don’t know how all of these amazing authors do it. Really.

Once, when I was young, tender and extremely stupid, I tried my hand at writing a book. I was just thirteen and you don’t see many thirteen year olds with books of their own. And I did try. I worked hard. I kind of had a band of friends who were both-my first readers and fellow creators of the book (it is called ‘Chocolate’). It wasn’t bad for a chick who just became a teen and is so damn full of shit.

Surprisingly, I did reach an ending point and it isn’t half bad.

I sort of hate it.

Half bad is simply not good enough. I need it to be perfect. It definitely isn’t. I was thirteen! What else do you expect?

I have never even been in love. How am I supposed to write a love story? Yeah, it is possible but it won’t be good enough.

My plot, to sum it down, was about a girl who ends up at a haunted mansion and falls for a ghost.

So, my point here is, if I couldn’t do justice to such a simple, clichรฉd plot, how do these guys create such magnificence out of the depths of their mind?

How could J.K. Rowling create an entire world full of wizards and sheer brilliance?

How could Rick Riordan create an alternate reality set in New York for the Greek Gods?

How could Suzanne Collins create a completely different system of society?

How could John Green create characters as multi dimensional as Alaska, Margo, Gus and Hazel?

I seriously have so much of respect for all these guys. They are true wizards and witches of our time and beyond.

So…I read Looking for Alaska. I don’t dare to write a review because the book was that awesome.

The thing is, now, I’ve read three books by John Green and so far never has the guy ended up with the girl. Something always gets in the way. I’m not complaining and nor are the tissue companies. But I would really love to read a happy ending written by him.

Do Will Grayson, Will Grayson or An Abundance of Katherines or Let it Snow have happy endings?

I hope to read them in the coming six months. I have a thing where I don’t allow myself to read two really great books soon after each other. I am afraid that I’ll start taking their awesomeness for granted. It’s kind of like ying yang for books.

Also, I read Game of Thrones and I’m absolutely dying to read A Clash of Kings. But I don’t want to read the ebook and the book is kinda expensive. I hope my library has it or I’ll have to borrow from this awesome pal but that might take some time.

It’s such a dilemma. Should I buy or not?

Wish me luck. I hope I get to read it soon.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    May 26, 2014 @ 18:08:09

    Yes! YES! How did you like Looking for Alaska? I read it in two days, and it made me cry. I probably made a mistake there – but I had nothing better to do during winter break. Curled in on my sofa in my favorite blanket with some hot chocolate and reading LfA. I loved that book the most. That is my second favorite after TFiOS.
    Heh. I tried to write, too. But I could never make it to the end. At least you did, and that’s great! After I finished LfA, I read TFiOS for the second time, and I loved it more than ever! Tell me what you think of LfA.

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      May 26, 2014 @ 18:13:51

      I simply loved it! I read it in two days too! And Alaska ๐Ÿ˜ฅ That shouldn’t have happened to her. I kind of envy you here. Reading a really great book while curling up in a blanket with some hot chocolate in hand is my ultimate fantasy. But I’m from Mumbai. The winters aren’t very cold.
      TFIOS is my favourite book ever too!
      Reading it for the second time is even more heart breaking than the first? Amsterdam! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
      I especially liked the time line format of LFA. Man, John Green. He’s just too good for words.

      Like

      Reply

      • aditi1641
        May 26, 2014 @ 18:33:24

        AMSTERDAM! That is the one place I want to visit. London is second. I don’t know for Alaska. I mean, that is her self-destructive, rebellious nature. Like she is almost the symbol of elusiveness. Try going to Delhi. The winters are freezing there ๐Ÿ™‚ I love John Green. He is my absolute favorite author. It’s been a little tough for me to find other authors once I read all his books. Although I hate how quickly he’s become famous, and everyone is naming a new kind of YA Lit after him.

        Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck
        May 27, 2014 @ 03:23:13

        Oh yes! Add Paris to the list!
        Alaska was complicated. She a had a personality. I like that about characters. Sometimes, the books are good but the characters end up weak and that just doesn’t work. So I like Alaska. She was there with all her flaws and self destruction.
        I wanted to go for graduation in Delhi! But mom said no.
        Greenlit should be written only by John Green. That is what I feel. No other author can compare.

        Like

      • aditi1641
        May 27, 2014 @ 22:36:14

        Sometimes I feel that characters are their own planets, which distinguishes one book from the other. Look at Hazel and Gus. People know the characters now, not just the book.
        Aww. That’s too bad. Rajasthan is a great place during the winter, too! (Just suggesting ๐Ÿ™‚ )
        The rule of John Green awesomeness has just begun! Wait and watch for more!

        Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck
        May 28, 2014 @ 03:21:59

        Thank you for your truly awesome suggestions! But I usually end up studying during the winter holidays. We have exams immediately after ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        Oh yes! It’s the era of Nerdfighters!

        Like

      • aditi1641
        May 28, 2014 @ 21:29:52

        No problem! ๐Ÿ™‚ It IS the era of the Nerdfighters, but it’s also the era where people understand teenagers as real people, not just a population going through a tough phase, you know?

        Like

      • aditi1641
        May 28, 2014 @ 21:30:34

        And it’s only because of John Green…

        Like

      • theintrovertedschmuck
        May 29, 2014 @ 03:40:58

        Yeah! At someone is trying to make a conscious effort to understand us. You know, what our actual problems are and our dreams and aspirations. And while doing that, he doesn’t look down upon us.
        That is needed…

        Like

  2. oklanapple
    May 27, 2014 @ 13:18:48

    I read that book too not too long ago and I’ve never felt so involved with the main character. When that happened with Alaska I didn’t feel sad until he started talking about how the to be continued will never happen. It was touching, John Green really is an amazing author. I completely agree with you.

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      May 27, 2014 @ 13:31:22

      Exactly! He doesn’t create characters who are people in the book-universe. He creates people who are characters. Alaska was so real. She shone, she radiated. She brunt Pudge and blinded him with her Alaska-ness. So what happened next was extremely devastating. I read the book while travelling by train and everyone was offering tissues to the sniffling me ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

      Reply

  3. bookaddict14
    May 28, 2014 @ 15:45:31

    Hey! Will Grayson does have a happy ending!…sort of..I’ve always noticed that john green’s stories always have a bittersweet ending and in a way that makes it more realistic…being imperfect

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      May 28, 2014 @ 15:51:34

      Okay! So Will Grayson is the next John Green book I’m reading ๐Ÿ˜€
      True. That bittersweetness is a part of the awesomeness of John Green books. I do wonder how will a happy ending written by him be…

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the countryโ€™s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

