Weddings: White and Indian ones

I am a girl. I have thought numerous times about the time when I get married, if I do. And I’ve decided that I don’t want a big wedding. Just a court marriage and then a big delicious dinner which I can enjoy.

In a big fat Indian wedding, the bride and (I think) the groom are supposed to fast till they get married, then get married, snap loads of pictures and finally have the lunch/dinner after everyone has left.

I don’t want that!

My favourite part about an Indian wedding is when the bride’s brother twists the grooms ear. It’s his way of saying-Treat my sister well, or I’ll kick your ass.

Then is the food part. Food is an extremely important part of an Indian wedding. It defines the status of the wedding. Non delicious food can make you gossip fodder for years to come. Indians need food like the Dothraki need killing at their weddings.

So basically, the bride and the bridegroom decide a really yummy menu with all of their favourite dishes and then they end up eating the leftovers.

Maybe most of them are just too happy that they are married and that the guests enjoyed themselves. Whatever. Not me.

When I get married, I actually want to enjoy my wedding and food is a big part of the enjoyment process. Hence the court marriage and the dinner.

Why is an almost eighteen year old talking weddings?

I was watching F.R.I.E.N.D.S. just now. Ross was getting married to Emily (his second wedding). She wore a beautiful white dress. She looked so damn beautiful. All brides do. They get this magic glow which works better than any kind of makeup. The bride is undoubtedly the most beautiful woman in the world at that moment.

image

The thing is, I want that too.

I want to be a beautiful bride with a happy blush. Someday. But I want it bad.

And I want my sister (because I’m a feminist and my sister is bad ass) to twist his ear.

Anyway.

So back to Friends. I got it when Emily got mad when Ross said “I take thee, Rachel.”  Any girl would. Usually I love Ross (although Chandler is my Friends’ guy). But at that moment, he was an arse. Big time.

All this wedding talk, and I’m not even of the age. There’s plenty of time. But, oh dear God, white weddings make me swoon.

Why?

This-

image

And this-
images (2)

And-

151271513427_1

images (3)

❤ ❤

images (5)

❤ ❤ ❤

images (6)

Kate Hudson’s dress in Bride Wars ❤

tumblr_lxvbfoiuWn1rn0j5go1_500

How can I forget Duchess Kate?

img-kate-middleton-wedding-dress_075548914142.jpg_gallery_max

Cakes are very important too-

round-wedding-cakes-with-calla-lilies-750x755

white-wedding-cake-1

7f4f87b458bdea06ceaf0d5bb15856ac

Indian brides aren’t far behind-

Maroon-Indian-Wedding-Dress

Beautiful-Lehenga-Choli-GHMSSV1032-u

I think Jodha ie Aishwarya Rai Bachchan from the movie Jodha Akbar makes a stunning bride-

Aishwarya-Rai-jodha-Akbar-jewelry

Also this! ❤

green3

Do weddings make you swoon?

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

