Admissions, stress and books (and a bit of birthdays and cakes)

It’s been seven days since I last posted. The week has been kind of bipolar. Usually, it’s pretty easy for me to cheer myself up. I just watch an episode of F.R.I.E.N.D.S. The effects of it are foolproof and long lasting.

Or I read a book.

Or arrange my bookshelves.

Nothing seemed to be working this time.

Why was I depressed?

The lists for college admissions were out and I didn’t get in where I really wanted to. St Xavier’s.

St Xavier’s is pretty awesome for many reasons. I will list a few (yay! List time! )
1. The building is this old Victorian mansion type building. I can literally feel stories in its walls. Stories of students who had come and gone. I can hear echoes of friendships older than I am and love affairs which resulted in grandchildren. I can sense the vast sea of knowledge and learning the college has to offer.
2. It has a carved wooden staircase.
3. One of the profs there is called Hermione!
4. Getting into Xavier’s will be excellent for my career.

A dream that I had dreamt for long crashed right in front of my aching eyes.

So yes, I was pretty sad.

Until one of my uncles gave me an excellent piece of advice. He said, “Say, you want to learn swimming. Whether you go to a simple community pool or a posh five star hotel pool, it’s swimming you’ll learn.”

That makes sense. So, I’ve decided not to be sad anymore.

I got into K.C. college and I’m going to be happy about that! It’s a good college too and the profs are really nice.

Happiness is a choice. So is sorrow. I’ve decided to be happy. And I’ve plenty of reasons to be.

I am finally done reading ‘A clash of Kings’. It’s nothing short of brilliant. Although I generally think of wars as absolutely futile. And every damn character is warring. And dying. I don’t like characters dying.

I’m definitely going to read book three though. I might lose my sanity if I don’t. Oh the intricacies of the plot and the cliffhangers! How they torture me!

Now, I’m reading ‘The Great Gatsby’. I’m little over halfway through. I love Fitzgerald’s language and formation of sentences. He is politely sarcastic which is my favorite form of sarcasm. I also love the way Jay Gatsby’s character is developed.

The goodreads blurb hinted at a sad ending. So the next book I’ve lined up is ‘I’ve got your number’ by Sophie Kinsella. I had already  read the ebook but then my aunt gifted me the book-book. So I’m going to reread it. I love rereading books. It’s like visiting old friends and spend an afternoon discussing the joyous days spent together over tea and cookies.

Meet my old friend!

image

Also, the same awesome aunt gifted me these –

image

Which makes my John Green collection almost complete.

I now own –
1. Looking for Alaska
2. An Abundance of Katherines.
3. Paper Towns
4. Will Grayson, Will Grayson
5. The Fault in our Stars

The only John Green book I now lack is Let it Snow. Well, it’s my birthday next month and one of besties has been dropping hints. Fingers crossed.

My birthday next month. My eighteenth birthday! God! Am I really turning 18? I don’t feel enlightened; nothing out of the ordinary. Although I do have my learner’s driving license test in September. That might help it sink in.

I must say, I AM SUPER EXCITED! My imagination is already knee deep in party plans though my dream party is somewhat extravagantly impossible.

Green Day Concert.

Man, that would rock. Although I’m pretty sure Billie Joe, Mike and Trés have better things to do.

So I have the next best thing which is even better in many ways. Rika is one my closest friends. She lives in Canada. This year, she is going to be here, in India for my birthday!!!!!!!!!

I am so looking forward to the moment when she smears cake on my face and I try to lick it off. C’mon! Why waste good cake?

I think I should make some kind of 18th birthday resolution. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

