The Fault in our Stars (movie)

tfios movie poster

So after months and months of speculations, ‘The Fault in our Stars’ movie released in India. There had been rumors that it might not release at all but it did!

AND I SAW IT!

I feel like one of the luckiest people alive! The book meant a lot to me. It changed me. The written word of John Green does that to people.

Well, I loved the movie, I did. But they skipped plenty of scenes. I can understand that. The movies have loads of limitations like time , budget, etc. It has to be so damn difficult to adapt an adored book like ‘The Fault in our Stars’ into a movie. It must be quite a challenge to capture it’s essence. I know I should not compare it to the book but I can’t help it.

514_400x400_NoPeel

Except in two cases. I’ll talk about them later.

I already have low expectations with film adaptations. You can thank the debacle called the Percy Jackson movies for that. Those were disappointing.

TFIOS definitely wasn’t. Like definitely, definitely.

It started with a normal pre-Augustus day in Hazel’s life. I loved her haircut, her awkward vulnerability, her realistic- sarcastic attitude. Shailene was pretty convincing as Hazel Grace Lancaster.

images (4)

images (3)

Then entered Ansel Elgort As Augustus Waters and I fell in love. After watching the promotional trailer with the metaphor scene, I already knew that Ansel made an amazing Augustus. But after the movie, OH MY GOD!

images (1)

I honestly think that no other actor could have been a better Gus. Ansel was perfect and so much more! Augustus Waters is a complex character to play. The number of read-between-the-lines emotions experienced by him is immense.
And his cocky attitude is unique.

a-metaphor-the-fault-in-our-stars1

But Ansel was perfection. Not once during the movie did I think of him as Ansel. He was Augustus through and through. Which, according to me, is good acting.

The fact that he looked absolutely gorgeous didn’t hurt either. Actually it did. Every time he smiled, my heart melted into a puddle of pink goo. He has one of those heart-breaking mischievous smiles. I am partial to such smiles anyway.

images (2)

And winks. I love winks. Augustus winked in some scene. I might have swooned a little. Or a lot.

Did anyone notice that Ansel’s lips are poutier than Shailene’s? Generally, female lips tend to have a natural pout as opposed to male lips. Ansel is clearly an exception. But WoW…

The casting was good. Hazel’s parents were so amazing! And Nat Wolff ❀

Some scenes were shot beautifully. Like the egging scene. Man, laughter rang throughout the movie theater. And Augustus's speech in it! XD I don't think it was in the book (was it?) ; cool improvisation. The book had loads of dark-type humor. The movie expressed it really well.

The other amazing scene was obviously the metaphor scene. But also, the pre-funeral eulogies.

The cover of the book reads- "Electric…Filled with staccato bursts of humor and tragedy"-Jodi Picoult.
I thought I got what she meant. I hadn't; not until yesterday. During the pre-funeral scene, I was crying but I was also trying not to because I had worn lenses (who does that? Crying is a requisite to TFIOS. So why? But then again, I had carried an umbrella. And the sun was shining fiercely. Sometimes, I don't get myself. Really.)

Anyway, so I was crying and worrying about my lenses flowing away with the tears. I was also laughing. That is how I got what Jodi Picoult meant in her quote.

Although, I must say, I missed some scenes.

Like the selling of the lonely, vaguely pedophilic swing set which seeked the butts of children. I wish it would have been included in the movie.

And there was no mention of Kaitlyn. None at all.

And, in the Indian version, the sex scene was cut. Which is just the kind of bullshit the censor board does. I didn't watch the movie for the sex scene, but the scene being delete made the progression of the movie a bit abrupt. Not to mention, it wasn't necessary. I felt violated because this part wasn't included.

wpid-img_20140707_201249.jpg

That is one of the best love-letters I’ve ever read.

Overall, it was a GREAT movie. I laughed, I cried, I had a great time. The makers were successful in including the basic gist of the book.

If you love the book, don’t miss the movie.

1391020437000-FAULT-OUR-STARS-MOV-jy-2622

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 13:10:12

    I dont know what to say!!!!!! I saw the movie, too!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›
    It’s too bad for the people in India, because the movie was released on june 6 in america! i watched the same day!!!!! so it was funny and a little weird to see the posters for the movie on the newspapers giving the date july 4. but anyway..
    I agree with you all the way!!!
    I loved everything in the movie! I think it is the best book to screen adaptation yet after, of course, the harry potter movies. It sucks that the Indian version does not have the sex scene. It was an extremely crucial and intimate moment in the book. That’s when we all realize that Hazel loves Augustus, too.
    Yes, Gus’s speech during the egg throwing scene was not there..
    I cried so much during the movie, too! I knew I was going to cry during the movie, so i went prepared and went in my glasses instead. Crying with or without contacts makes it hard to see the screen in front of you, though.
    Yes, I did miss the selling of the pedophilic swing set, but then the director also made a good job of making the movie’s story seem clear while cutting some of the scenes out.. I wonder what some of the people would have thought when they saw the swing once, but not again, because there is no explanation in the movie for the absence of the swing set. Too bad for them, I guess.
    And I agree with you all the way! I just don’t want to repeat everything you’ve said. Great Post! Thanks for summarizing the Tfios experience! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 13, 2014 @ 17:29:04

      Aditi! Thank you for your awesome long comment! It made my day!
      I so envy you! You saw almost an entire month before me! You’re so lucky!
      At least I don’t live in Italy. I heard tfios is releasing there sometime in October.
      I guess I’ll have to watch the sex scene when I download the movie or buy the DVD.
      I seriously hate the censor board for deleting it! Many Bollywood movies have those scenes too. There it is allowed. It’s so sad that they have tabooed sex so much. Their logic is twisted. They show it’s something dirty. It is not! I mean I’m just (almost) 18. But even I know that they end up censoring things that don’t need to be censored. Hypocrites.
      Sorry for ranting but really, it was bad. Everyone could actually make out that a scene had been cut, not just the people who had read the book.
      Hope you enjoyed it! I’m so eagerly waiting for Paper Towns now! Eeeep!

      Like

      Reply

  2. aditi1641
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 09:04:38

    I love how you said “Eeeep!” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Yeah, Paper Towns is coming out next year and Natt Wolf is in it! He is soooo cute, too! I am so eager to see who will play Margo. She is such an interesting personality. Have you read Paper Towns? You should. I’m glad my comment made your day. Your post made my day too! You should have seen my expressions while I was typing the comment! I couldn’t control myself πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 18, 2014 @ 17:20:39

      Yeah! I agree, Natt Wolf is sooooo cute! The actress who ends up playing Margo will have to be someone exceptional. Margo Roth Spiegelman is such a wonderfully complex character!
      I read Paper Towns just in April-May sometime. I bought it around 6 months before. John Green books are, according to me, not to be read all at once. I like keeping gaps between them.
      Who do you recommend as Margo?

      Like

      Reply

  3. aditi1641
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 09:06:00

    Reblogged this on My Crazy High School Life and commented:
    My exact reactions to the movie. Enjoy!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

