Silver Linings and Silver Linings Playbook

Sometimes I am afraid to hope. I am reluctant to want things for the fear of not getting them. Call me a pessimist, but it hurts less when I fall because I’ve accepted the possibility of falling.

It’s twisted. I am a pessimist. I believe that there is a chance that I might not get what I asked for. I rarely do. But, all the same, I don’t wish for that to happen. I’d rather it didn’t.

I’ve learnt that acceptance is the key to sanity. Life is going to give you lemons at some point, it’s for you to accept that, yeah, these are lemons and lemonade can be made from them. You can open a stall, sell lemonade and earn a profit. Yeah, your lemonade stall may not be as profitable as, say someone’s orange juice stall. But, hey, at least your not unemployed.

You should learn to look at the silver lining.

But isn’t that optimism?

So I guess, I’m not a complete pessimist. But I’m not an optimist either.

Am I a realist then?

Mayhaps.

I’ll have discover myself better to know that. Maybe I’ll write letters o myself. We’ve been advised to do that in psychology class.

Anyway. So why am I talking about pessimism, optimism and silver linings?

Because, I read ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ by Matthew Quick.

First I saw the movie (because JLaw is awesome) then my friend read the book, then I decided on a whim to read it too.

I loved it! Books with protagonists who have some psychological problems appeal to me.

It’s interesting to see the strange ways in which the human brain works. 

Not just that, I guess I learning empathy that way. I might end up as a counsellor. And every counsellor should be emphatic.

I haven’t read many books with therapists and psychological disorders though. My appreciation of books with psychological aspects is a recent discovery. However, I hope to increase my reads of this genre.

Coming back to ‘Silver Linings Playbook’… the book and the movie very pretty different. Not totally different, mind you. It’s like the movie was a summary of the book.

I did like the movie. Bradley Cooper acted well and Jennifer Lawrence was, well, pretty fidel to the book character Tiffany. She did win an Oscar for her portrayal of Tiffany (and fell down while collecting it! In some weird way, I adore her for that).

But the Tiffany from the book was older to Pat. She was in her late thirties. Jennifer barely passed for a woman in her late twenties.

Bradley Cooper is a good actor and he made a decent Pat. But then again, the Pat Peoples from the book was so much more; deeper and just more of a character. But I guess, that’s once again the limitations of a film adaptation.

And Nikki was bitchier in the book. She was nicer in the movie.

I liked both-the movie and the book.  But for completely different reasons. 

I recommend you to watch the movie, then read the book and then watch the movie again.

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

