Am I a cinephile?

Cinephilia refers to a passion for cinema and cinephilic individuals  or cinema lovers are called cinephiles.

Supriya Ma’am who used to teach me French was the first person I consciously remember calling herself a cinephile (rather a cinéphile since she was talking in French). Ever since, I’ve become a bit obsessed about the term ‘cinephile’.

Rather, the question  “Am I a cinephile?” has plagued me.

I have always loved watching movies. I remember my summer holidays back in high school. I would either read a book or watch movies. I had a movie partner too. I used to check the movie listings on TV and invite over one of my friends Sailee. We would usually end up watching at least two movies.

I guess they were my first ‘movie marathons’.

I had done this thing with another friend of mine. We were watching the same film but she was at her place and I was chez moi. We were simultaneously discussing it on the phone. Boy, was my mum mad!

So yeah. I love watching movies.

Some six months ago, another friend Ravenclawsam had suggested that we make a list of all the English movies we’ve ever seen. Originally I had said no because c’mon what a tedious task! But later, I did.

How many movies did I have in my list?

One hundred and sixty.

I know it doesn’t sound like a lot. But this was a list I had made from memory. I must have skipped at least a couple of movies that I’ve watched.

Also, I didn’t include Bollywood or Marathi movies. Bollywood is a very large industry. We have at least three new hindi films coming out every week. So I guess, I must have seen at the same number of Bollywood movies.

Finally, that number 160 has definitely increased by 20 or so  movies.

So am I a cinephile?

I guess.

I just saw four movies and I am extremely tempted to start no.5. I’ve been doing this a lot lately. Watching at least two movies back to back. Last week, it was ‘Just Friends’ followed by ‘Night at the Museum 1’.

Today I saw –

1) Law abiding citizen ( I honestly don’t know whether to hate Gerard Butler or to love him in this one.)

2) Tanu weds Manu ( This one was a typical Bollywood masalawali love story.)

3) My big fat Greek wedding (I cried during Tula’s wedding. What is it about weddings? They make us so freaking sentimental!)

4) Despicable me 1 (All I have to saw is -Awwwwwwww! It was like cotton candy! So cute! )

So far that’s it. I might watch ‘Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind’ once I post this. I’ve been meaning to watch this one for ages! I literally have Jim Carey sleeping on my TV screen!

Or maybe not…I have college tomorrow. And I need 7 hours of my beauty sleep! ( Or my dark circles might actually make me look punk or something. That wouldn’t be so bad. It would be awesome!)

Anyway. So this is me -Mia or theintrovertedschmuck who is a bookworm and a cinephile (apparently).

Maybe I will watch ‘Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind’ after all.

image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 02:51:18

    I’m a cinephile, too! I guess you know when you’re glued to the TV the ENTIRE weekend when you should have been doing your homework. I got some scolding from my mom later that week. (I do crazy stuff like that when my mom’s out of town to work 🙂 ) I wanted to make a list of all the English movies I’ve seen too, but considering that I go to the theatre so many times, can’t keep myself away from the TV, and have a huge CD/DVD collection, I decided to give myself a break. Besides, we all know when we’ve watched a movie before, so why really hurt yourself right? I don’t want to think, “Oh, I’ve got to add this to my list when I reach home” when I’m in the cinema. Especially if it’s a late movie. (Now that I think of it, I can’t believe The Fault in Our Stars is actually going to be on my list! – if I made one. I feel accomplished, sort of. But it’s funny, because I didn’t put in any work towards that movie. I guess I was strong while I waited for it and all. 🙂 )
    What is “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” about, anyway? I haven’t heard about, and the blue hair is suggesting something super cool. So tell me soon!

    Like

    Reply

  2. aditi1641
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 02:51:18

    I’m a cinephile, too! I guess you know when you’re glued to the TV the ENTIRE weekend when you should have been doing your homework. I got some scolding from my mom later that week. (I do crazy stuff like that when my mom’s out of town to work 🙂 ) I wanted to make a list of all the English movies I’ve seen too, but considering that I go to the theatre so many times, can’t keep myself away from the TV, and have a huge CD/DVD collection, I decided to give myself a break. Besides, we all know when we’ve watched a movie before, so why really hurt yourself right? I don’t want to think, “Oh, I’ve got to add this to my list when I reach home” when I’m in the cinema. Especially if it’s a late movie. (Now that I think of it, I can’t believe The Fault in Our Stars is actually going to be on my list! – if I made one. I feel accomplished, sort of. But it’s funny, because I didn’t put in any work towards that movie. I guess I was strong while I waited for it and all. 🙂 )
    What is “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” about, anyway? I haven’t heard about, and the blue hair is suggesting something super cool. So tell me soon!

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 26, 2014 @ 17:59:32

      Hahaha! The anticipation for TFIOS was murderous! We survived that! It is an achievement!
      Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind is a futuristic love story. I still haven’t seen it. I fell asleep last night . But it has Kate winslet with blue hair and Jim Carey! He is one funny guy! A friend of mine highly recommended it to me. So I downloaded it. I should watch it yaar and soon!
      Hi-fi fellow cinephile! 😀

      Like

      Reply

  3. aditi1641
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 02:52:37

    Sorry, don’t know how that came on twice. But it is as I like to call it “double dhamaka”!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

