Sometimes, I just don’t get myself.

I am in a bit of a dark mood today and I have no idea why. I’m not depressed, not even a little sad. Just in the mood for my playlist of depressing songs. Sometimes, depressing, angsty songs make me happy. I’m weird that way.

Songs I’m listening to currently-

1) Hope- The Submarines

2) How to be dead- Snow Patrol

3) Run- Snow Patrol

4) Wake me up when September ends- Green Day

5) Breathe me- Sia

6) 23- Jimmy Eats World

7) Until you’re mine- Demi Lovato

8) Rest in pieces- Saliva

9) Violet Hill- Coldplay

10) Give me Novacaine- Green Day

11) Restless Heart Syndrome- Green Day

Sometimes, I just don’t get myself.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 16:39:59

    That’s the best part! You get to learn more about yourself! And besides, everyone needs a dose of reality (or in this case, depression) between all the love songs, or the dance songs, or all the loud pop songs. It can get tiring hearing the same songs again and besides, depressing songs are all about one voice, one problem. I sort of like those kind of songs coz they get me thinking, and I’m not distracted by the constant beats in the background, you know?

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 27, 2014 @ 19:06:40

      Exactly! Art is something that basically makes us feel. Music is an art so it has to make us feel something. These songs are like sandpaper against my heart. Not all pain is painful. Sometimes it’s absolutely necessary to feel pain because that makes us human.

      Britney and co are great but there’s no sandpaper.

      Am I even making sense?

      Like

      Reply

      • aditi1641
        Jul 28, 2014 @ 06:06:26

        Yes, you are ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • aditi1641
        Jul 28, 2014 @ 06:09:24

        There’s no reality, no feeling. Like whatever Britney sings has no meaning, just words and chords thrown out there. But these songs that evoke the feeling of “sandpaper against the heart”, they sound like real people with real problems. There’s a sense of reality…

        Am I making sense?

        Like

  2. aditi1641
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 17:23:28

    By the way, I’m listening to a few of these songs, and you have a really good playlist! Can’t get enough of “Breathe Me” by Sia ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 27, 2014 @ 19:11:37

      Thanks! I love trying out different kinds of music. I especially have a thing for indie bands.
      Sia is awesome! I heard this song in a TV show. Packed to the Rafters? She has a haunting voice. It’s like a lone woman walking in a graveyard wearing a white dress. That woman isn’t dangerous but she has this aura of sadness around her.
      Check out ‘I go to sleep’ by her. I had to delete it because I cried so much every time I listened to it. Although I am tempted to download it again. it’s just brilliant.
      Btw, can you recommend some songs to me? I love trying new stuff and a person’s playlist says a lot about him/her. Not going to judge you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  3. aditi1641
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 06:12:10

    In the same genre of depression, I like “Dancing with tears in my eyes” by Kesha. She doesn’t sound all sugar-rushed and fake here, she sounds like a real person, with one single voice dominating the song. I sort of get the picture of walking alone in the rain at night when I hear the song. Tell me what you think about it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • aditi1641
      Jul 28, 2014 @ 06:16:28

      It sounds a little overwhelming at first, (as I realise hearing it after a long time ๐Ÿ˜› ) but let the song grow on you. Hear the sadness in her voice. The beats will start drowning out on their own.

      Like

      Reply

  4. aditi1641
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 07:40:07

    you should also try “Colorblind” by counting crows. It gives me this weird combination of happiness, hope, and depression. The beginning is similar to “breathe me” by Sia, and that’s how I remembered it. “Colorblind” also came in the movie “Cruel Intentions”. You are not a cinephile if you have not seen that movie! ๐Ÿ˜› Love it so much.

    Like

    Reply

  5. aditi1641
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 13:30:37

    Also try “Feels Like Rain” by Kesha. You get used to the groove just in one listen.

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 29, 2014 @ 12:44:35

      I love all three of them! Wow! I never thought Ke$ha could be so intense!
      I’ve seen Cruel Intentions but it was a long time ago. I had been watching the movie that had come before and then I saw that the next movie had Reese Witherspoon. So I saw it. It was something entirely different. I was 13-14 that time. I didn’t actually understand it as well as I would now. I guess I’ll watch it again.

      RYAN PHILLIPPE!!! โค โค โค
      He was gorgeous!

      Like

      Reply

  6. aditi1641
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 14:37:23

    I’m glad you like what I recommended. I’d love to exchange songs in the future ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love to experience all that’s out there. And you have some really good songs worth listening ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  7. Rachel
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 19:05:43

    I used to LOVE listening to Wake Me Up… I think some sad songs depress you (Bridget Jones listening to All By Myself with a bottle of vodka, anyone??) and some are kind of uplifting in a weird way. Maybe it’s because someone “gets” you, maybe it’s the melody or maybe (I find) it’s because I’m a wordy person, and…I don’t know how else to explain it, beautiful words and songs – sad songs are good for the soul ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jul 30, 2014 @ 13:41:47

      Finally I find someone who loves Wake me up when September ends!
      Yes exactly! Some songs are just plain depressing but some songs just make you feel. They inspire, they just make me wanna do things. And not just sit around doing nothing.
      I think it’s that they are real.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the countryโ€™s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

