I effin’ love Landmark

The Landmark in town was closing down or getting a revamp or feeling overly generous so they had a sale.

Actually, I wouldn’t call it sale. They were literally giving away books. I mean, sales are 30% off or 50% off. What do you call when a leading bookstore chain sells books at 70-90% off?

YES! 90% off!

One of my friends Saiber told me about it, I told my new BMM friend Geet about it. And we went.

We entered the mall. We were worried that there wouldn’t be any decent books left. People must be buying truckloads of books! 90% off!

We entered the store and there was a stack of books with 90% off. We shrieked and grabbed two baskets and more than two books.

Then we discovered the young adult section and I found my heaven! I’m a book shopaholic so I must have put some fifteen books in my basket forgetting that I didn’t have enough money for fifteen books.

After browsing all the shelves, Geet and I were forced to choose. It was like Sophie’s choice. You have all these great books at unbelievable rates; you’d be an idiot to not buy them. But you are a bigger idiot if you don’t carry enough cash. Yep, I’m an idiot. Big time.

So, with huge amounts of regret, I cut down from fifteen to three books. I sat with my cellphone calculating the cost of the books. I could just afford them.

So we went to the checkout counter and got our books billed. The guy at the counter took my three books and started billing them. The billing machine screen showed all these crazy numbers like 600 and 834 that got be worried. I had just 200 rupees.

Then he said-“You owe us Rs 73.”

At first, I thought he meant that u got 73 rupees off on my purchase. And then I thought, maybe all the three books were being sold for Rs 73.

“Really?” I asked him.

“Yes, ma’am, really.” He said with an isn’t-this-girl-batshit-crazy-smile.

Well, then I rushed into the store and grabbed six more books. Eeep!

image

My books 😀

Geet also got many books-

image

Geet's books

Then I did what any decent person would do. I passed on the news to my bookoholic friends.

image

Dee's stack of books

Saiber was the luckiest of us all. She lives in the vicinity of the store so she went every other day. Approximately, four times. So her stack is actually a bookscrapper!

image

Saiber's bookscrapper

Book sales make me happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

