Blood of Olympus

picmonkey-collage2

This is not a review. It’s more like a rant or a random rambling about BoO .

Blood of Olympus came out on the seventh of October. Omg, has it already been five days?

So a couple of days before 7th, a friend of mine called Mallika and I started sending texts to each other. These texts had just three letters – BoO!

Our anticipation was intense!  The only time I had felt like this was when Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows had come out. But even then, it wasn’t like this.

Of course, I started reading BoO on the 7th. Finished it in a couple of days.

So this is awkward because BoO has a really great rating on Goodreads but I didn’t like it.

Let’s go chronologically.

On the seventh of October as I opened the book and read the Page of Contents. And…

PERCABETH DID NOT HAVE A POV!!!!!!!!!!!!

How can Percabeth not have a POV? They are the characters we know and love the best. We’ve seen them hate each other when they were shrimps of 12 (or was it 11?). We’ve seen them grow up, battle monsters, accept destinies. We’ve seen them fall in love and make out in water bubbles.

We’ve seen them jump into Tartarus for each other and we’ve seen them come back.

And we don’t get a goodbye!!??!!

(This is me, channeling Ross.)

It would have been okay if they had some great role to play or some ugly monster to kill. But there was nothing much really. The best Percabeth scene was this kiss just as they’re about to greet Gaia’s giants. And that was from Piper’s perspective.

Otherwise the book was pretty awesome except for the end. Maybe it was just me but I felt a severe lack of action. Leo was the only one who was all badass. Others not so much.

And war sequences need to be longer! In The Last Olympian, more than half of the book was full of battle. And everyone had their moment of awesome.

1) Annabeth when she takes the blow of the knife instead Percy. This is where we know that she’s over Luke ( kind of).

2) Grover when he turns the shiny sparkly Sun Titan into a tree with the help of other Satyrs.

3) Thalia when she joins the battle.

4) Charles Beckendorf when he sacrifices himself right at the start.

5) Silena when she leads the Ares cabin into battle dressed as Clarisse.

6) Clarisse because the way she skewers the drakon. It’s priceless.

7) Poseidon when he joins the Olympians against Mr. Too tall and ugly giant who lived in a volcano.

8) Chiron when he confronts Kronos.

9) Hades when he joins the battle. This is probably my favorite scene in the book. There Nico and Persephone and Demeter in all their badassness. And it’s just so funny!!

10) Luke . I am not talking about this one. It’s  too hard and hurts too much  Oh Luke! You were a hero in the end.

Even Paul Blofis (Blowfish) had his moment of awesome badassness.

I didn’t feel that in BoO.

Also, I felt that many characters were missing. I get that it’s difficult to have all the characters ever make an appearance but at least Chiron and Sally Jackson? They should have been there! And Groverrrrr!!!! Even Clarisse et al didn’t make all that much of an appearance.

One last criticism before I move on to all the awesome. The entire Heroes of Olympus was basically based on a prophecy, courtesy of Rachel Elizabeth Dare and Lord Apollo.

It basically went-

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,

To storm or fire the world must fall,
An oath to keep with a final breath,

And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.

So it was obvious that someone dies. For months,years actually, the entire PJO fandom had been debating on the who part. All that contemplation and we find out the Who just over halfway through the book. Where’s the Rick Riordan brand of surprise?

Okay, now comes the spoiler time. Have you read BoO? Yes? Continue reading.

No? Shut your eyes and scroll for a bit. Better you don’t read the following lines.

Don’t peek!

Okay, so here’s it. No one dies.

I KNOW, RIGHT!!!???!!!!

Someone has to die. It’s just not realistic otherwise. It need not be someone very important, say Percy (No Hades! No!) but someone like Luke in The Last Olympian? Someone who was obviously going to die but feeeeeeeels! The number of feels when Luke died…okay, hurts. I’ll stop now.

So what was awesome about BoO?

NICO!!!! He had his own POV! How awesome is that?

Well, so did Reyna! I love strong female characters and if Reyna isn’t strong then I’m a patch of cabbage.

BoO was amazing till the last set of Jason’s POVs. Then it was somewhat lacking. But before that it was full of action and adrenaline.

Another spoiler alert.

Caleo happens!!!! YAY! Caleo happens! Caleo happens! I was rooting for them so bad!

By the super talented Viria <3

By the super talented Viria ❤

Don't they look absolutely adorable together?

I didn't give Blood Of Olympus a 5 star on Goodreads as I had hoped I would but I love the book all the same. Go read it if you haven't. It's the end of Percy's journey (and the other seven, Nico and Reyna)

heroes_of_olympus_by_viria13-d646876

Viria again ❤

But I am going to miss all of them so freaking much! :')

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corner of Confessions
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 15:04:53

    Ah someone else who reads this!! I’m way behind though. I own book one and two of the series but i have not read book two yet. The rest of the series is sitting in my amazon wish list but some other book always wins out the battle to make it to the amazon cart. Sigh. So i didn’t read this all the way through because i didnt want to read spoilers. But i’ll make a mental note to revisit whenever i eventually do read the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 12:05:42

      I don’t blame you. I was kind of reluctant to read book two myself because The Lost Hero wasn’t all that great. No Percy? The awesome levels are definitely going to drop. But in the second book, it does get better. The Mark of Athena and The House of Hades are the just amazing! Especially if you ship Percabeth (which I do. They’re my OTP 😀 )
      When you read the series, we’ll discuss to the deepest detail 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. Richard
    Oct 12, 2014 @ 16:51:25

    Nice review! 🙂

    Totally agree on the lack of Percabeth!! I also didn’t like how quickly Gaia was defeated- this massive moment has been building for 5 books and she is beaten within a chapter or two without her doing any destruction. :s The Last Olympian is better in that respect due to the epic battle finale.

    But in general, I did enjoy the book apart from a few issues I had. Nico and Reyna were awesome!

    I would be grateful if you give my review a little look. 🙂
    http://rwh92.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/bloody-brilliant/

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Oct 14, 2014 @ 12:25:56

      Thanks 🙂

      Percabeth deserved an epilogue at the very least.

      Gaia is supposed to be the most powerful Goddess of all time. I think, she was defeated too easily. There should have been some destruction at least. Frankly, the fight against Nemesis was more interesting.

      I liked Blood of Olympus too but I just expected more, you know? I had hoped that the series would end with a bang but it felt like it fizzled out a bit.

      Nico and Reyna were amazing! I love them as characters!

      I read your review and I share your exact same thoughts about BoO.

      Now, let’s wait for Magnus Chase 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  3. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 12:36:38

    Great review. I’m almost 1/2 way through. That’s disappointing about Percabeth. I’ve been sort of hoping that maybe the last chapter would be from their POV. Drat 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. infinityreads
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 08:16:29

    Rick Riordan said on twitter that he didn’t have Percabeth chapters in BoO because “they had their turn in HoH”, but we could have got one final goodbye chapter?
    I don’t think I’d be able to handle it if anyone died really, especiallyone of the seven

    Like

    Reply

  5. By Hook Or By Book ~ Book Reviews, News, & Other Stuff
    Oct 14, 2014 @ 13:04:23

    I just finished a few chapter’s from Nico’s pov.and while I loved reading them it’s also heartbreaking. He’d better have a happy ending!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

