A rant about menstruation

A couple of months ago, someone really let me down.

There’s a Whatsapp group I’m a part of (I’m the admin actually ๐Ÿ˜€ ), it has just two male members. Most of us are chicks.

That month many of us girls had their periods at the same time. So, naturally, we were bitching about cramps and the general PMS. Then we discussed ways to get over those pesky cramps and aches.

At this point, neither of the guys was online.ย  After some time, the less active one came online and started complaining about our discussion. He said that the group was a public forum and that it wasn’t right of us to make the guys uncomfortable that way.

There was a huge argument. I didn’t say all that much but this issue has been festering inside of me ever since this happened.

Now, I am going to rant about it.

I’m a girl. I have four to five excruciating days a month wherein blood flows out of my vagina. I have to wear a sanitary napkin (or a tampon) this time of the month. It’s painful and it makes me a bitch.

It happens to every woman.

Why does something as general as this make guys uncomfortable? I honestly don’t get it. It is something that just is. What’s the point of making it a taboo?

Especially in India. I love my country and it’s culture and traditions. But if I have my chumps, why can’t I go to temples? Why is it wrong? Why am I considered impure?

It’s just blood and mucus.

If you have a cold and I punch you, the stuff that will come out of your nose will be a mixture of the two. Does that make you impure or something?

The answer is no.

See, the thing is everybody poops and everybody pees. All women have those days of the month. Nothing to be ashamed about.

What are periods exactly?

Menstruation is the monthly discharge of blood and mucus along with an unfertilized egg cell.

That’s it.

If babies are considered cute, then why is something related to 50% of what makes a baby considered taboo?

We consider ourselves as modern and generally unorthodox. So isn’t it high time that we get over the taboos over menstruation?

I can understand why women were made to sit in a place and not enter the kitchen back in the olden days. Basically, I think, it was so that they could get some well-deserved rest. But it should be by choice and not compulsion.

Periods are just something that happens every month. It’s painful and uncomfortable. We girls get super hormonal and moody during these days. So be nice to us instead of yelling about how indecent it is to bitch about something so argh.

And if discussing menstruation makes you uncomfortable, well, have a frank talk with a lady close to you. It need not be awkward. Just accept it. And get over how uncomfortable it makes you.

She is definitely facing more discomfort going through it than you are discussing it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ฯ‰ฯƒัโˆ‚ั•ฯ‰ั”ะฝั”ฮฑัั‚
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 16:14:15

    I love this lol (: couldn’t of had said it better myself

    Like

    Reply

  2. infinityreads
    Dec 02, 2014 @ 04:07:31

    Amen to everything you said! Guys try to act all tough but when it comes to periods or waxing your legs they’re such sissies. Being from India myself I totally get the taboo mentality around periods. You say that word out loud in public and it’s like you’re Satan or something.
    Aha I just ranted in your comments sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Dec 03, 2014 @ 04:18:52

      Don’t apologize! It’s totally understandable.
      I know!!!! Especially about the waxing. They are all like what’s the big deal about that?
      The guys should try waxing one of these days. I wanna hear their screams. Haha!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Rasika Vartak
    Mar 28, 2016 @ 07:03:20

    That’s funny n stupid… Guys in this era should feel “Uncomfortable” when their friends are discussing about Periods ๐Ÿ˜€ I completely agree what you have written…I do not accept n follow this ban of – not going to this place / that place / not touch n all stupidity!!

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Mar 28, 2016 @ 10:09:07

      Yeah! And I considered this guy to be okay with all this. I was so disappointed in him.
      The ban is stupid and I’m so happy you don’t follow it. It’s good to see people and their perceptions are changing ๐Ÿ™‚ Eventually maybe the society as a whole will give up these meaningless traditions.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the countryโ€™s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

