The Book Blogging Challenge Thingie

Happy New Year!

And what good is a new year without challenges and resolutions?

A few days ago I was chatting with my friend Sam who blogs at A Blast of Random ( ravenclawsam.wordpress.com ). I have known her forever- forever translates into 4.5 years. She’s seen me through my awkward school years. And I have seen her through her notsoawkward school years. She is one those immensely likable people.

Sam’s the one who got me into the Young Adult genre, way back then when I had braces and a low self-esteem. It’s because of her that I read the Shopaholic series, a bit of Dan Brown and some Cecelia Ahern. Par consequence I started reading Percy Jackson, The Hunger Games and so on.

So basically, Sam has been greatly influential in shaping my book taste.

Last year, I read too much. It was all about the quantity. Now, I’m not saying that I didn’t read anything decent. Because I did. I read many splendid books. But I had to accelerate my reading speed. I couldn’t enjoy the books I read as much as I could have, had I cherished every word.

Another effect of my 2014 Goodreads goal of reading 200 books was that I hardly read any classic-y or intellectual books last year.

I didn’t even finish A Song of Ice and Fire series inspite of owning the books. Books made of paper with the addictive paper smell and Jon Snow. And I didn’t read them.

In 2015, I have decided that I will try as far as possible not read just for finishing some goal. I will read for the reason I actually used to read.

The joy of reading.

So while telling Sam all of this, both of us were struck with an idea. (We’re kind of psychic that way)

What if we made up reading lists for each other in 2015?

One book per month and the certainty that the book would be one we would love ‘coz our tastes in books are pretty similar. And what’s the point of doing something if we don’t blog about it? (Procrastinating, of course. Oh well…)

So lo behold!

The Book Blogging Challenge Thingie

*Cue drumroll*

This is how it goes-

Eins- Only the book chosen for the month from the list can be read.

Zwei- The Book for the Month should be announced on the first of the month and it should be the first book read that month.

Drei- A post about the book should be put up on the last day of the month. It can be a review or a random rambling.

That’s about it.

So Sam’s book for the month of January is Ice by Sarah Beth Durst.

ice

I selected this book because it’s a fairy tale but the protagonist is not a damsel in distress. That always works for me. Also, I believe it to be loosely based on the myth of Psyche and Cupid. Cassie’s love interest is quite unusual too.

Have you read the book? Drop in a comment down below!

You can check out her post about the Book Blogging Challenge Thingie here http://ravenclawsam.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/what-does-the-new-year-hold/

What does 2015 hold for you?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudette Melanson - Author of Dark Fantasy
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 13:31:45

    Reblogged this on Claudette Melanson, Author of Dark Fantasy and commented:
    From: Diary of an Introverted Schmuck

    Like

    Reply

  2. RavenclawSam
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 15:08:05

    Great post! And thanks for being so generous with the praise 🙂
    Also, I didn’t know I influenced your reading so much, I mostly just think of it the other way round.. haha!
    I hope we enjoy this project as much as I think we will 😛

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jan 11, 2015 @ 17:15:57

      Thank you! And you did influence me a lot. I think, it’s a very mutual thing. Both of us have inspired and influenced each other. We’ve played a major part in becoming who we are. I’m so happy it was you. Thank you :*
      This project is going to be so awesome! 😀 #superexcited

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

