My Life post Deutsch

During the months of December and January, I had a really busy schedule. I was learning German then. So I used to attend college, then attend class and then return home.

I’m basically a very sedentary (ie lazy) person. I loved learning German but I hated my routine. It was too tiring.

I was actually a little bit relieved once I appeared for the A1 exam (and passed.. I scored 93/100). I expected life to go back to normal. Hey, maybe I could even nap in the afternoon!

But then I realized, I had really gotten used to the busy life. It felt good to have something to do; constantly. I felt worthy… of what? I don’t know.

So now that I actually have plenty of time at hand to read, blog, watch movies and sleep, I find myself wanting to go out. Make some plans. Have an adventure. This is when I super miss Sneha. She’s one of the most adventurous person I know. Adventurous but not reckless.

I must have done so many new things during those six weeks.

Now I feel empty. I need some kind of project. But the thing is, it’s not like I have nothing to do.

I have to appear for my semester 2 finals in six weeks and semester 1 retests by the end of Feb. There’s a lot of studying to be done. And reading Foucault and Jean-Paul Sartre is an adventure in itself.

I also tried Sushi recently. Mumbai doesn’t have many restaurants serving the Japanese cuisine. And whichever restaurants do serve sushi etc, well, they’re bloody expensive.

Every year there’s a Japanese cultural festival in Mumbai call Cool Japan Festival. Thanks to Adi, I ended up going this year (it happened last week). And we ended up trying sushi.

It had crab meat in it. I loved it. I wouldn’t call it tasty because my Indian tongues is used to about five varying tastes per meal. But sushi did have a certain flavour which appealed to me.

I also bought quite a few books in 2015 (so far).  Three of them for my lit class.
– The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
– Disgrace by Coetzee
– Foe by Coetzee

wpid-img-20150213-wa0018.jpg

 

wpid-img-20150213-wa0021.jpg

 

 

While ordering the Coetzees on Amazon, I ended up buying The Catcher in the Rye. It was just for 152 bucks. About 50% off. I couldn’t resist such a great deal.

 

wpid-img-20150213-wa0019.jpg

Isn’t the cover very elegant?

 

 

Then, one random, I walked to the Churchgate station from college and I found a hardcover of Holes by Louis Sachar. After a mental struggle that lasted for about 20 minutes, I ended up buying it.

 

It's second-hand but second-hand books have their special appeal, don't they?

It’s second-hand but second-hand books have their special appeal, don’t they?

 

Earlier this month, I ended up going for yet another book exhibition. This time, I successfully restricted myself to two books.

 

Both the books have been on my TBR for a pretty long time now.

Both the books have been on my TBR for a pretty long time now.

 

Blogging-wise, Feb has been slow. I am absolutely uninspired. Or maybe there’s nothing to write about…but no, there’s always something to write about.  Maybe it’s just one of those months filled with the writer’s block.

Talking about the future, my friend Saiber got published and tomorrow is her book launch. I am so proud and happy for her. She is one writer who totally deserves it.  The launch is at a bookstore in Bandra called Title Waves at Bandra at 5 in the evening. Do drop by if you can 🙂

 

saiber

That’s Saiber with Stardust and Sheets

 

 

So yeah, my life is not boring. But then why am I so bored all the time? And just so sleepy! Maybe it’s because I miss my German class so freaking much. I love everything about learning a language (yes, even the grammar). Now, there’s a Deutsch-shaped hollow in my life.

Anyway, tomorrow is going to be a busy day.  I better go to bed (See? Sleepy.)

Good Night, sleep tight and avoid making Horcruxes tonight 😉

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

