Top Ten Bookish Problems

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic was Top Ten Bookish Problems and I realized I can talk about them.

10) Too many books, not enough time

In 2013, about 304,912 books were published in USA. Those were the statistics for just one country for just one year. Imagine the sheer number of books published in the world ever.

How am I going to ever read ALL of those books in one lifetime?

That’s the only thing I envy Edward Cullen about. But I don’t get it. He could be reading so many books. Instead he chose to romance a stupid chick called Bella. What a waste of immortality and time!

9) TBRs

Talk of the devil and here it is. Currently, my TBR shelf on Goodreads has over 1500 books. And I keep on adding more and more of them. Now, all of these books are to be read. But how in the world am I going to read all these books? I want to; I really want to but I’m human after all. A human collapsing under the weight of her TBR. But that’s okay.

8) Hazardous Bookshelves

I have two bookshelves and both of them are filled to the point of overflowing. I actually fear that one that they are going to topple over and pin me to the floor. I have absolutely no place to keep more books. I might actually have to keep some of my books in a bag in the attic.

7) The Book Buying Ban

In the past one year, I must have bought about 50 books. Actually, more than 50. Definitely more.

Crammed shelves, lack of general place, too many book buying sprees, too many unread books, etc led to the Book Buying Ban. My mum has absolutely forbade me from buying any more books.

I buy anyway. This month I had to buy three books for my lit class. So yay!

I’m such a Book-shopaholic.

6) No Books for Birthdays

When my mum announced the Book Buying Ban, I immediately began searching for valid reasons to buy books. And who dares to deny the birthday girl?

Many people, actually.

The problem is I buy books at an alarming speed. I read them pretty quickly too. So whoever wants to buy me a book for my birthday has to face the question of which book to buy? There have been instances where a friend of mine gifted me a book I had already read.

5) Book Recommendations

I love receiving and giving book recommendations. That is how I end up reading a greater variety of books.

But I have so many of my friends recommending books to me. It’s just not possible for me to read all of them immediately. And I live in constant fear of hurting their sentiments.

Book recommendations aren’t a problem exactly but it can get really difficult to read all the books ever recommended.

4) I’m not crazy. I’m just a Fangirl.

I shriek every time any Harry Potter movie is played. I go Drakaris when I’m mad. I have developed a weird habit of singing ‘The Hanging Tree’ at midnight. I pray to the Greek Gods.

I am a Fangirl through and through.

But fangirling is perilous and often misunderstood. My mum doesn’t get why I am so possessive about my Harry Potter books. She doesn’t get the brilliance of Sherlock. Nor does she understand my need to watch the next episode of Dr Who.

I’m pretty sure she thinks I’m crazy. Mum isn’t vocal about it but my sister is.

But I’m not crazy. I’m just a fangirl and that’s the way we are.

3) The long, seemingly endless wait for the sequel

I’ve been waiting a long time for the sequel to come out. Honestly, the authors end their books with cliffhangers (Rick Riordan, yep, I’m talking about you) and then make us wait for the sequels.

The nice ones make us wait for a year or less.

The evil ones takes ages to write the sequel. Yep, George R R Martin. But we love them anyway.

2) Authors again!

As if the cliffhangers weren’t bad enough, we have authors killing characters.

I get it that it’s necessary but why???? Why do they have to do that???

How many of us have gotten over Dobby? Sirius? Fred????

Definitely not me.

I read The Book Thief recently and as expected, I was sobbing uncontrollably by the end of it.

The authors do this. They give us hope and happiness, then wrench our hearts while killing a part of us.

1) Movie Adaptations

The Book is ALWAYS better. Always.

This is what I keep trying to tell my sister. She thinks the Harry Potter movies are actually better than the books. ROFL.

At least the Harry Potter movies are decent.

Let us talk about the Percy Jackson movies. They’re crap.

Even Rick Riordan agrees. He was asked which was the best Percy Jackson movie made. He replied, “The one which wasn’t made.”

We love the book. We wait desperately for the movie. Some of us rebel against exams and routines just to watch those 2 hours of motion picture. Then why do the makers have to screw them up?

Why can’t they read the books for once?

All my fellow Bookworms, what other problems do you face?

Comment with your Top Ten Tuesday links and I’ll definitely check them out ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aditi1641
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:20:25

    I feel you. On every single point you’ve mentioned. Especially the long, tedious, TBR lists. I have 3 books from my friend that I’ve kept with me for over 6 months, and she’s giving me even more recommendations!! I’m smothered under the piles of unread to-be-finished titles! You’re not alone, Mia. Just know that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 18:26:41

      Haha. Feels good to know that there’s someone who there who gets exactly what I am going through ๐Ÿ™‚
      Which books did you borrow from your friend?
      Feels good to hear from you after such a long time ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

      Reply

  2. mohiletanvi92
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 11:45:34

    Loved the post! I know exactly how you feel. Too many books, not enough time..that’s what I’m always saying. And I sort of had the Book Buying Ban too, but I have made space now and it has to be filled!! So the ban’s lifted! Totally agree on point 4, lots of people don’t seem to get it. And the books are definitely ALWAYS better than the movies ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the countryโ€™s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

