I love being a woman

I really love being a woman. Yeah, now I can be considered a ‘woman’ and not a ‘girl’. Well, I have turned 18 ie achieved physical maturity. The mental or psychological maturity? I’m getting there.

But, my point is that I love being a part of the female half of the human species.

Why is that such a big deal?

Because I’m from a country like India which has for most part a misogynistic society. You’ll know if you have seen the BBC Four documentary on the Nirbhaya Rape Case. If literate men  proclaim that women are inferior to them, what should we expect from the other 36% of the of the population?

I am not in a position to crib though. I was lucky enough to be born in a family that actually wanted a girl child. I was fortunate to not be one of the millions of souls silenced even before they could enter this world. Nor am I denied the basic human rights and freedoms I deserve because my worth is not chained to household work and childbearing.

Don’t get me wrong. Homemakers are superwomen too. But not working should be their own choice and every woman and man should get educated. After all “One child, one teacher, one book, and one pen, can change the world.” (Malala Yousafzai).

The crimes against women are rampant in India. Not a day goes by without reading of a girl/woman being raped or attacked. And there is variety in ways they are attacked. There is the use of acids or the use of brute force. Words are used sometimes- cruel words that savagely kills the light in her eyes, the spring in her step and all the self-esteem she has.

These are just the extreme cases. Sexism is obvious in even the most normal matters of the everyday life.

Gender role conditioning begins right at birth. Girls get pink. Boys get blue.

What if the girl grows up to love blue and the boy grows up to love pink? Is there something wrong with that?

Then they grow up a bit and are given toys to play with. The girl is given dolls and kitchen sets while the boy is given cars and action figures.

What if he grows up to be a chef and she becomes an auto-mechanic? Nothing’s wrong with that.

Then comes teenage and oh God, it is one of the worst period to be a girl. There’s periods which is just plain horrible.

Then there’s the whole boobation thing. It’s awkward.

Finally, there’s the whole behavior thing. Sit in a proper way, behave like a girl, be docile and blah blah blah. I really don’t get why I cannot sit with my feet propped up against a wall in my very own home. And why are we even stereotyping girls by deciding parameters according to which they are supposed to act?

Another thing I really hate is that girls are expected to cook. Whenever I enter the kitchen, my family starts acting as if I just got my first period. Every potato I cut or every slice of bread that I butter is revered. That’s the height of my cooking expertise. I did make brownies once but my friend mostly did all the work. I hate cooking. I just do, there’s no explanation as to why. But I am expected to cook. That’s what sells in the marriage market. A girl who cooks.

There is sexism at work. There is sexism at home. There is sexism in school. There is sexism at travel. There is sexism everywhere.

Inspite of this, I love being a woman.

Women are just so awesome. They are beautiful in their resilience, their wisdom and their love. I personally believe that a woman can love in a way that is truly infinite. They can forgive and they can heal. They can also mess up your life big time if you get in their bad books. Just sayin’

I have been surrounded by so many amazing women all my life. Right from my mum, to my grandmum, my aunts, teachers, friends, my lil diva of a sister-everyone.

There is a beauty in the silent strength that they have displayed time and again. There is a beauty in every outburst that is hurled at you with a hurricane-like fury. There is a beauty in every tear that makes its way down her soft cheek and adds salinity to her sucrée lips.

A woman can be delicate sunshine or the wrath of the storm. She can be the loving touch of a mother or she can be the embodiment of Goddess Kali.

We worship so many Goddesses. Kali, Parvati, Saraswati, Lakshmi and millions of others. Kali is the goddess of Power. Parvati is the goddess of love. Saraswati is the goddess of knowledge and learning. Lakshmi is the goddess of wealth and prosperity. All these qualities are found in women.

So yeah, you dudes who think women are inferior to y’all, you couldn’t be any more wrong. Women are goddesses.

 

I love being a woman because my smile is as powerful as my hugs which are in turn as powerful as the sharp wit of my tongue.

I love being a woman because I have a greater choice in the type of clothes I can wear.

I love being a woman because I am soft and cuddly.

I love being a woman because I can bleed for a week and stay alive (credits -Utsavi)

I love being a women because I can cook and be a terrific mum.

I love being a woman because empathy comes naturally to me.

I love being a woman because I can touch unicorns.

I love being a woman because I can have sparkly nails.

I love being a woman because I am awesome.

I love being a woman because I come in all shapes and sizes.

I love being a woman because I come in many colors-all gorgeous.

I love being a woman because another person lives inside of me for nine whole months.

I love being a woman because I can eat an entire carton of chocolate chip ice cream all by myself.

I love being a woman because I cry, freely.

I love being a woman because I have awesome hair, be it straight or be it curly.

I love being a woman.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ritu
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 20:53:20

    Celebrate it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. sunsandstarsanddreams
    Mar 09, 2015 @ 14:34:18

    This is amazing! And yep, it’s wonderful to be a woman!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Mallika Kelkar
    Mar 10, 2015 @ 00:23:07

    Amazing stuff bro! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

