Finals, Heat and March wrap-up

I’m sweating like a pig right now (Do pigs even sweat? That’s something I need to google.) It’s just too frickin’ hot here. The fan’s whirling around at top speed and nope. No relief. That basically sums up summer in Mumbai.

And on top of that, it’s finals week. Normally, I don’t mind studying. i like it even, depending on the subject. I loved poring over Kahlil Gibran’s poems for Literature and I loved discussing Freud’s theories for psychology. Marketing pretty much sucked until I tried to apply it to some advertising campaigns going on currently. Then it was cool.

But, after a point, the point being the moment when the air conditioner is switched off, it becomes too much. It’s too hot. The portion is too vast. Summer vacations seem too far away. And it sucks that it’s already summer but without vacations.

Summer might actually be my least favorite season. Mumbai summers are hot, humid and sticky. Did I mention stinky? Because stinky is what happens when you sweat like a pig. Sometimes I actually feel I’m going to end up as a puddle of sweat. And God forbid if I have to travel someplace. Even travelling within the city sucks. When I leave from college in the afternoons, the trains are heated up to the extent that my bum actually burns after sitting down on the seat.  Makes me wish that the metro network passed by my flat.

But it doesn’t and a little part of my brain melts away everyday.

It’s Saturday today and my exams end on Wednesday. Only four more days. I can survive that much, can’t I? And I know that the vacations are going to be awesome!

Diary of an Introverted Schmuck turns one on April Fools’ Day. *Happy Dances into a crazy frenzy*

It is a biiiiiiiig deal. I know I keep on repeating this but I never thought I would get this far. Yeah, there have been moments when I thought I sucked; there have been moments when I, in reality, pretty much sucked but I persisted and perseverance is rare for me.

Announcement time! Get the trumpets and the loud speakers! (well, not really)

On the occasion of my Blog Birthday, I asked some of my friends to guest post on my blog and they actually agreed! Like they actually wanted to! I didn’t even have to use my crappy puppy-dog expression.

I’m going to be posting a guest post every week starting from the first of April for as long as I have posts to post. Yay! I’m so excited! I am not bragging, all the guest posters are brilliant writers and whoever’s reading these posts is in for a treat.

That already makes April awesome.

As months go, March was pretty good too. So far, I’ve read five books and ten volumes of La Corda D’Oro. Manga is a really good read during exam time. The chapters are shorter somehow. They’re these quickie reads.

The five books I read are-

1) Powder and Patch by Georgette Heyer- I read about Georgette Heyer’s books in a book I read last her and ever since she has been on my TBR. Powder and Patch was just what I needed after Behind the Beautiful Forevers. It was a light, humorous read. I actually lol’d a couple of times. It didn’t hurt that the book was set in an era when they still wore dresses and had balls.

2) The Shadow Cabinet (Shades of London#3) by Maureen Johnson- I started the series last year and had been desperately waiting for the next book ever since. Cliff hangers,meh. Now, I’m waiting for the next book. Again.

3) Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return by Marjane Satrapi- I love graphic novels all because of this book (and it’s prequel). My next birthday, I’m going to demand all my friends to gift me graphic novels. I even have a list of all the books i want.

4) Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee- I still haven’t completed understood this book. God, there are so many layers to it. Pretty much brilliant.

5) Love and other foreign words by Erin McCahan- Love and other foreign words is just one of those books you end up recommending to all your friends on Goodreads. It was really cute and funny with really unique characters.

And there’s the whole Ed Sheeran concert that happened. That was pretty cool too (Read: SUPERMEGAFOXYAWESOMEHOT).

Also, I might just pass this semester. All my exams so far have been pretty okay. Not disastrous as I had expected them to be.

And the vacations are going to be awesome! I have so many projects and collaborations planned. I am going to start a Tumblr blog with my friend Dee who blogs at The Vocal Wallflower. I’ll put up a link here once it’s up.

I still haven’t made up reading list for April. I’ll do that once I’m done with exams.

Just come quickly, April. I want  vacations.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. leannaatc
    Mar 29, 2015 @ 04:49:48

    I haven’t read manga in a while, but I remember watching La Corda D’Oro. Have you watched the anime? I was obsessed with the classical music in it.

    Good luck on your exams!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Mar 29, 2015 @ 11:25:10

      Nope. I’m new to manga too. I read Fullmetal Alchemist last year and now La Corda D’Oro.
      I will definitely watch the anime soon. Classical music is so beautiful and expressive. I haven’t heard much…just a couple of Pavarotti songs. But I want to start listening to more of it.
      Thanks! I need all the luck I can get. Some Felix Felicis will be good too 😛

      Like

      Reply

      • leannaatc
        Mar 30, 2015 @ 19:52:50

        I don’t think I have the patience to tead manga, so I mostly watch anime, but ecen that I don’t do much anymore. (I did watch Fullmetal Alchemist and Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood though. They’re the best!)

        Like

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

