Brace yourself! Season Five is here!

After months and months of desperate waiting (and I mean Fangirl desperate which another level of desperate altogether), it is here. Season five of Game of Thrones is here!

Wait, why isn’t that in caps?

SEASON FIVE IS HERE!!!!!! OHMYGODOHMYGODOHMYGOD!!!

The thought and intrigue of season five is literally what kept me going for the entire week. The week just seemed to go on and on. I mean, why couldn’t it be 12th April already? And I could watch  ‘The Wars to come‘ in peace. Then fangirl some maybe and drown in a jar of Nutella. Repeat the whole ceremony in a few days when the second episode comes out.

I even wore my Game of Thrones t-shirt yesterday to commemorate the occasion (yesterday because I was sure that I was going to set my foot out today).

And finally, it’s the D-Day. D stands for doom here because season five going to be feels loaded. I mean, it’s Game of Thrones, feels are a given. It’s strange that so many people watch the show and survive. Seriously! Season four was crazy. Intense. Loaded with feels.

Joffery got poisoned. Petyr Baelish made Lysa Arryn fly. Sansa dyed her hair. Arya watched without remorse as the Hound writhed in pain and died. The epic fight between the Mountain and the Viper. The smearing of Oberyn Martell’s brains all over the floor. Daenarys being Danaerys ie awesome. Jon Snow and Ygritte happening and then the scene where Ygritte dies.

Boy, did season four have action.

Well, after waiting for an entire day while my friends were discussing the new episodes (FOUR!), I saw the first episode. Sue me for not waiting for it to come on TV. I live in India. Season five premiered 24 hours later here. And trust me, when i say it’s censored.

So I saw it. Holy Hera and Zeus! It was amazing.

Something like this happened-

I waited till everyone was in bed. Before hitting play, repeatedly informed everyone that I was not to be disturbed for an hour, not even if George R.R. Martin called offering advanced copies of ‘The Wind of Winter’. (Not literally, Who would say no to something like that?) Put on those earphones, took a deep breath and braced myself, and hit the play button.

Woah. That was what my brain (and my mouth) yelled as soon the title track had started playing. I have a weird obsession with the Game of Thrones title track. It just gives me so much feels. Yes, I am a feels junkie.

Then the actually episode started…

79672-Brace-Yourself-the-Spoiler-is-JC12

It started with a young Cersei going to a witch who tells futures. The young Cersei is horrified by what the witch predicts. We didn’t see much of Cersei in this episode. But that’s okay. 52 minutes were spent well getting reacquainted with Danaerys, Jon Snow and Tyrion.

So the young Cersei goes to a witch who predicts that all her children are going to die. Then we see the present day Cersei visiting Tywin’s body which is being protected by Jaime. She blames Tyrion for killing Tywin (which he did. Go Imp! We love you!) and she blames Jaime for setting Tyrion free.

I don’t know  by what right does Cersei call Tyrion the ‘Little Monster’. She’s the monster here. Not Tyrion. And who does she think she is? Some clever bitch?

tumblr_nlqbl1iM7E1s4hjb0o1_500

I can’t wait to see her go DOWN this season!

Tyrion meanwhile plans on drinking himself to death but Varys to the rescue. He convinces Tyrion to visit Daenarys. I can’t wait for their meeting and eventual alliance (please tell me that happens!).

legendary

I really do think they’re going to make an epic team. And if Jon joins them eventually, they will be pretty much the unbreakable trio. The smartass, the Queen and the warrior. Talk about meant to be.

There was a bit of Sansa but the only thing I noticed was her hair. I liked her hair better when it was red. Red hair is fascinating.

Jon Snow. Jon fucking Snow. I was so happy so see him. I dare not say that he’s my favorite character. Next thing I know, he’ll lose his head. He’s awesome though. Look at his face when Melissandre asks him whether he is a virgin or not. Well, he does admit that he isn’t albeit grudgingly. He acknowledges Ygritte. Ygritte was fire to his ice ❤  I miss Ygritte!

There was no Arya, no Theon. I want Arya and I want to see her sticking people with the pointy end. She survived for such a long time. I think it’s commendable. I so want an Arya-Cersei showdown.

Next episode maybe. Not the epic showdown but Arya Stark definitely. Thank Goodness it’s leaked! I confess that I’m definitely going to watch it tomorrow.

What did you think of this episode? Let’s have a long, spoiler-filled discussion in the comments below.

I personally loved the episode. Especially the bit where Jon shoots a burning Mance to allow him to die in dignity and thus defies Stannis. Boy, he’s in trouble. But when is he not in trouble?

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

