A visit to the Gynaecologist

My uterus can be a little bitch. Whenever I get my periods, it tries to kill me. It squeezes and contracts itself to the point that I can’t function.

Stupid uterus.

This time it got so bad that I couldn’t sleep at night. I couldn’t eat properly. Nor could I read much. It hurt so terribly that me mum decided to take a leave and then dragged me to the gynac’s.

We landed at the hospital around 11. Then we waited some. And some more. And more. It felt like a lifetime but in reality it was just two hours.

Finally, I was called inside. Stripped. Argh. I have a low body image. What with the extra tummy and the jiggly bits, it’s not something that I especially love doing. But oh well, medical reasons and it’s not like the doctor who deals with lady parts has never seen them. So I stripped…

…and waited. During this second period of waiting, my brain became its normal obsessive over-thinking self. I kept on imagining other naked butts on the bed type thing where my naked butt lay.

Ewww and gross.

Finally, the real exam happened. I was asked to cough. What does coughing have to do with my vagina, I have no clue. But the doctor knows better so I went along.

(Did anyone get the Doctor Who reference there?)

Then I was asked to dress, go outside and wait some more.

Visits to the doctors are more of waiting than actual medical examinations and testing.

Then the gynac asked me to return in an hour for sonography. During that hour, I was to drink 2.5 litres of water. And not eat. Anything.

Did I mention I had had a light, early breakfast?

One hour later, my bladder was full. I really really really needed to pee. And I was starving. Starving to the point that I could eat paper and people.

Then came the sonography. Pressing something on my already full bladder in not my idea of fun. God knows how pregnant women do it.

It took every miniscule bit of my self-control to not pee on the examination table thingy.

Then the sonography was over and I could finally pee which is just what I did. The doctor prescribed some antibiotics and vitamin pills. Then I was on my way home.

I had a KitKat and then lunch. At 4. Argh. That left me with a headache which proved to be an excellent reason for taking a nap.

I realize the need to look after my lady parts. But gynac exams are definitely not my idea of fun.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aishwaryabhuta
    Jun 28, 2015 @ 16:18:35

    Get well soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

