Infinity

“After all this time?”

“Always.”

It is said that Rowling told a better love story in these 5 words than Meyer told in 4 books. Snape manages to undo nearly all wrongs he did with this one word (though I won’t ever forgive him for the way he treated Neville). Rowling sort of romanticized ‘always’ for all Potterheads. So this divides the world into two types of people: People who reply with ‘always’ and people who reply with ‘forever’, when they are asked ‘Will you love me the same way in future?’.
Basically, what one is trying to say, irrespective of whether you say ‘always’ or ‘forever’, is the fact that my love for you transcends everything else and I’ll love you at all times, on all occasions, for all future times. Thus comes in the concept of “Infinity”.

People who say love is stupid have something to rejoice. On one hand, we have Einstein who said that, “Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.” and on the other hand, we have people saying “My love for you is infinite.” Putting two and two together, it ain’t hard to say that love is stupid. I don’t believe that love is stupid. It may be expressed in stupid ways by stupid people but the very idea, the very concept of love isn’t stupid. The same goes for infinity. We may laugh at people who promise to be with one another for infinity but somewhere in the deep, dark corners of our heart, we are yearning to hear those words ourselves.

For me, the concept of infinity is a bit scary. What scares me is the fact that what if this promise is just another lie. I once read a quote somewhere – “I’m not afraid of heights, deep water or love. I’m afraid of falling, drowning or broken heart.” I’m not averse to making promises, but make promises you can keep. When you promise something to someone, they start having expectations from you. You just can’t go about making promises and then not fulfilling those expectations.
I feel it to be very ironic that things which are thought to be infinite need to be expressed in finite ways. As in, love which is thought to be infinite, needs to expressed with finite things such as gifts or flowers. Some like Shah Jahan build monuments like Taj Mahal for the ones they love while some like Shakespeare declare that “Not marble, nor the gilded monuments Of princes, shall outlive this powerful rhyme; But you shall shine more bright in these contents Than unswept stone, besmear’d with sluttish time.”  It is not that I’m against expressing love, it is just that I find it amusing. It just highlights that fact that opposites not only attract each other but are also necessary for each other’s survival. What is a hero without a villain, Yang without Yin?

Every person on this earth has a finite number of days to live. But yet, in those finite days, we experience moments of infinity, moments where we feel we have everything.  Why can’t we promise each other these moments of infinity rather than complete infinity? I know what I want. I would rather have someone promising me infinity in these finite days rather than love for infinity. Because those moments of inifinity aren’t easy to forget, what is easy to forget is the promise of infinity. If someone ends up breaking my heart, I would rather like to write “I am thankful for the little infinity we had.” rather than shedding tears because I was promised infinity and what I got was finity.

***
Back again with a post for my Blog Birthday. This one is by my college mate and fellow Fangirl Mallika. She is a brilliant writer and a terrific friend.

The word chosen by her was of course ‘Infinity’. There is so much of possibility in that one tiny word ‘infinity’.

Go visit her blog – The Confused Soul. I’m sure she’ll appreciate all your comments and appreciation.

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

