Horror is so not my scene

Last Sunday was weird.

Eleanor Roosevelt has said, “Do one thing everyday that scares you.”

I literally did that.

Let’s start at the beginning.

For a girl who loves skulls and Dexter’s breakfast routine, I had not, until this very day, seen any horror movies. Well, not any proper ones. By that I mean, so far in my almost 19 years of life, I have seen only Bollywood horror movies and not hardcore movies like Insidious or The Conjuring. It’s just not my scene.

Also, Bollywood can’t do horror. The movies are so not scary that they end up being comical. So I don’t count them.

On Sunday, my cousin and my work colleagues who are also my friends dragged me to a horror movie.

Which one you ask.

Yep, Insidious: Chapter 3.

Watching the movie wasn’t so bad. I mean, yeah, it was a bit scary but most of it was due the manipulation of light and sound. I realized that the sole reason why horror movies are scary is because of the sound effects. Before any of the super scary scenes, the background score would go silent. The scenes would be dark. The air would be full of apprehension and wait. And then, suddenly, the ghost/the entity who was around to scare the protagonist and the viewers would pop out nowhere making a tremendous noise. Meanwhile, all the movie-watchers would jump out of their seats.

That’s the secret, folks!

I thought I had it all figured out. Then came the night (in about 5 hours).

My cousin and I had a sleepover of sorts. We slept in the living room. we had planned on talking but we fell asleep. I forgot to switch off the lights. At 2.30 am, my grandfather woke me up and asked me to switch off the lights. I did that. But then, my cousin’s breaths became the breathing noises of the entity from the movie. Every shadow became threatening. I literally couldn’t sleep due to fear.

For two freaking nights.

The next day at work, someone said that if the evil entity hasn’t attacked so far, it probably won’t.

I started sleeping again.

***

Another thing I noticed about Insidious: Chapter 3 was the similarity with a Doctor who episode “the Empty Child”.

Placeholder_personempty child

Gas-masks and creepy? Co-incidence much?

Or maybe I see Doctor Who references everywhere…

…and hear TARDIS sounds everywhere.

My point is, horror is so not my scene. But I saw a horror movie and survived it. I feel so proud of myself.

Do you like horror? Did you watch Insidious: Chapter 3? What did you think of the movie?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claudette Melanson - Author of Dark Fantasy
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 18:17:02

    I haven’t seen Chp 3, but love the other Insidious movies. Have you seen Sinister…now that was creepy! I love horror movies…my favorite genre 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. aditi1641
    Aug 03, 2015 @ 20:51:56

    Hahaha. I am still scared of horror movies. But I think you’re definitely right. It’s all about the sound and light manipulation. That’s what I remind myself of whenever I’m watching a horror movie. I always try to avoid them, but my friends always have these horror movie gatherings, and the only reason I go is because I’m not alone, and I usually have someone to hold on to XD.
    But yeah, horror’s not my scene, either

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Aug 09, 2015 @ 14:13:48

      Whenever i tried to watch Horror with friends, I ended up falling asleep. even during The Conjuring,
      I do want to watch some Hitchcocks though. Good cinema should never be missed, eh?

      Like

      Reply

      • aditi1641
        Aug 26, 2015 @ 18:27:02

        Yeah.. and the heavy dramatic ones leave a mark on me, too. Like “The Aviator”. I wanted to watch it because I had heard it was a really good movie, but 20 minutes after the movie ended, I was stupefied. I couldn’t move off the couch. The material was so heavy. But if it’s all for good cinema, I agree it must be done. At least once 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

