Poetry and Swearing

Do you know the feeling when you feel a sudden surge of creativity after months and months of a writer’s block?

I felt that glorious feeling of victory just last night. I was working (new job. I create content.) and then I felt stifled. I wanted to write something that satisfied me. Something creative. Something true. Something more. So I tried.

It was a struggle at first. I ended up with a poem about that very feeling I talked about and showed it to my mate, Mallika (check out her new blog). While showing it to her, I was very sure of its crappiness and stupidity. So very sure. But to my amazement, she actually liked it. But then again it was 12am. Who knows?

Then we spent some time coming up with titles. We still haven’t found a suitable one. A perfect title is of the utmost importance.

So, in a moment of frustration, I declared that the poem will be called “Potato”.

No, as much as I love potatoes, I still haven’t quite managed to write an ode to them. And in the future now, when I do not feel so frustrated, I have decided against calling that particular poem ‘potato’.

Mallika then came up with hash tags for the poem (‘potato’) because Mallika loves hash tags. #Brown ended up as a new independent poem.

I swore in it. I used two forms of the word ‘fuck’.

In real life, I admit I swear a lot. By a lot, I mean I am a regular potty- mouth. Not so much around my mum though, for the obvious reasons.

So when I showed her the poem I wrote called #brown, the only remark she had was why did I feel the need to swear. She felt I should know better than to use ‘fuck’.

I don’t agree with my mum.

Yes, fuck is a swear word. But that doesn’t mean that it’s not a part of language. In fact, it is a huge part of colloquial language which is more widely used than proper formal English.

Plus, there are certain emotions that can be expressed only with swearing.

Imagine a Quentin Tarantino film sans swearing.

Imagine the famous dialogue from Pulp Fiction,

English, motherfucker. Do you speak it?

without the usage of ‘motherfucker’. Will it portray the rage felt by Samuel L Jackson’s character, Jules and his wrath then? Will the guy he was pointing his gun at would have been as intimidated as he was?

image

I think not.

I don’t swear in every poem I write. But sometimes, it just becomes necessary to express the intensity of what I feel. To express my anger. To express my frustration.

And isn’t swearing a better way of expressing frustration than taking a gun and shooting about a dozen innocent people?

Moreover, when my mum in an ashamed and displeased manner , asked me to quit swearing in all future poetry, she was in a way taking away my freedom of expression. Repression of art is something I can’t really tolerate.

It is art that enables us to think beyond the ordinary. If we repress that, we are essentially repressing a new, unique thought process.

Even the repression of swearing effectively manages this.

I’m not saying swearing is the way to go. I would never use the word ‘whore’ as an insult. Same goes for ‘cunt’. But sometimes, swearing is expressing.

What do you think? Is swearing a sin? Even in artistic contexts? Or artists should be given that much of creative liberty? What about in the daily life?

Tell me in the comments below.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MallikaKelkar
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 18:35:27

    Swearing is a part of artistic freedom. Sometimes, swear words are the only way to express something. When words fail, swearing works.
    But somewhere, we also need to keep in mind what words we use as abuses and who are we actually abusing. By calling someone ‘son of bitch’, you don’t abuse him, you say wrong things about a mother. I rather call someone all the names of animals in all languages I know than abusing someone else on his/her behalf….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Kevin
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 07:44:05

    I have a potty mouth as well but I have a hard time writing swear words in any of my writings. I figure if I have the time to type out a swear word, it doesn’t need to be there. Of course, when I’m upset, I swear up a storm in a wonderful verbal manner. I just can’t seem to put those words down on paper.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jan 14, 2016 @ 15:35:38

      Oh that’s strange. But understandable. Maybe swearing verbally is spontaneous but while writing you get a chance to contemplate the words so you avoid using them while writing?
      Anyway, it doesn’t matter. Everyone has their own quirks.

      Like

      Reply

  3. dhruvmaniar15
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 18:13:47

    It depends!! As you know, I personally do not subscribe to it. Also, insults do not need swears. If there is art in using them, there is a greater art in not using them and still getting your point across. Peace!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • theintrovertedschmuck
      Jan 14, 2016 @ 15:37:44

      Nevertheless I still believe they are necessary at times. Many a times they are a part of the jargon of a subculture. When representing this subculture, it becomes necessary to use the correct lingo to maintain the authenticity.

      Like

      Reply

  4. anonwholikedyourblog
    Feb 15, 2016 @ 09:07:02

    Swearing IS sin. So, obviously, every artist should swear whenever they can.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

