I got inked and I love it!

It’s Monday again. I just got done with the Return of the Jedi. I can’t face reality just yet. My mind has officially been blown away.

As space movies go, The Martian or The Interstellar were undoubtedly more technologically advanced. However, the entire Star Wars franchise (yes, including the sequels) has its own distinct charm.

Today, I watched Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

*happy dances like a maniac*

Last week has been pretty good. I wrote a couple of decent poems, and the talented Netra and I have plans for future collabs. Then they declared the dates for season 6 of Game of Thrones. Just when I thought that it couldn’t get any better, Emma Watson announced her feminist book club called Our Shared Shelves. 

How does she even do it? How does she manage to be such a wonderful person?

tumblr_inline_o0msocrTuv1tly0ny_540.gif

I hope to actually follow the Our Shared Shelves reading list and not you know, not read the books.

Another reason for this wonderful week was that even though it’s just the eleventh day of January, I have completed one resolution for 2016.

I got inked!

I have wanted to get inked for about 4 years now. But my mum was totally against it. She thought I didn’t get the foreverness of a tattoo.

I did get it. So I waited. I waited till I was actually sure of a design. And then when I had decided on one, I waited some more.

Five months later when I was absolutely certain, I got inked. I know I want the design for the rest of my life. I know that 20 years down the line I won’t opt for the removal of it.

Surprisingly, mum too reacted pretty well to the tattoo too. She is still talking to me so I guess she must be okay with it. She said she just wants me to be happy. Thanks, ma!

As for me, I feel more like myself than I ever did before. Does that even make sense?

I feel more capable of doing things. I feel more sure of myself. I like the tattooed me a little more than the plain old me.

The most astounding part of all was the pain though. Or rather the lack of it.

So when I told my family and some friends my decision to get inked, everyone’s first concern was whether I would be able to bear the pain. Their concern wasn’t misplaced. My tolerance for pain is lower than my tolerance for grammatical errors.

But I tightened my imaginary girdle and marched into the tattoo parlour. My mate Geet was with me. I had warned her that I was going to squeeze the life out of her hand, yell and cry maybe.

Then

  • I filled out a form,
  • went into the other room where the tattoos actually get done,
  • decided the position for the tattoo,
  • saw the artist open a brand new packet of needle,
  • insert it in his machine thingy and
  • start.

I breathed in controlling my brain to bear the pain…sort of a zen mode type thing (I thought about David Tennant).

But it didn’t hurt.

I was supposed to yell, cry and feel brave.

But there was hardly any pain. Just the same level as an injection or a blood test. That’s it.

Dude, my eyebrows hurt more when I get them done.

There went my bravery down the anti-climatic drain.

But, I got inked so it doesn’t really matter. Getting inked was the important thing and that happened. So it’s all okay.

img_20160109_164239.jpg

 

Existence is to remind me that I exist, that I have a life and I should actually do things with it instead of waiting for things to happen. If I want to travel, I should travel. If I want to eat an ice cream, I shouldn’t obsess over cavities.

Oblivion is to remind me that all men must die and all stories must end. Yep, valar morghulis.

Do you have a tattoo (or tattoos)? What does your tattoo mean? Did getting inked hurt?

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deep
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 18:22:11

    Thanks god you didn’t put those inked wrist at the top, I came here just to see the tattoo but it took half a minute for this page to open, so I thought that I should read all of it. I read, it’s good, real good. But nothing compared to that frigging tattoo, Oblivion & Existence. It’s so meaningful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. bookaddict14
    Jan 16, 2016 @ 09:08:19

    You didn’t send me a picture… but I saw it like this 😛
    They are awesome!! 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Paperless Postcards

Paperless Postcards is the country’s first platform for non-fiction conversations. The website triggers various emotions in their open letters & other verticals

Random stuffs!

Just random relatable stuffs! :)

Simply Leha

Breathing in textures

THE BOMBAY REVIEW

A journal of literary things

Raven & Beez

Two girls swimming in fiction

